31 Days of Card Making {Day 9} – Happy Birthday

I mentioned that one of the purposes of my participating in the 31 Days Challenge was to force myself to make time to be creative or do something that revolves around the creativity that I love.
Well, that was really put to the test yesterday!  We usually try to spend time as a family on Saturdays, and the day was busy, as usual.  We went to a parade in the morning.  It was so cold and wet outside that we opted to just return home afterward, and I then set about accomplishing some homemaking tasks – cleaning the bathrooms, making homemade granola, and mixing a double batch of chocolate chip cookie dough to put in the freezer for future use.
As the day gradually expired, I thought I should get to work on making some time to create, or at least to blog about creating.  But I decided to go out to dinner with a friend instead! ;-D  It was a much needed diversion for both of us.
As it turns out, it was a good thing I was able to create another card late Friday night, or I might not have had anything to blog about today.
For this card, I utilized the colors from The Play Date Cafe’s #102 challenge, and Viva La Verve’s October Week 2 sketch.  These two challenges are far outside my comfort zone.  First, square cards are not necessarily my favorite.  And these colors (while delightful in and of themselves!) are just not ‘safe’ colors for me!!  I really had to ponder how I would create something with these colors.
And the process changed en route, from what I wanted to produce, to what you see here.  I’m not sure if I’m missing something or not.  Maybe more stitching, or something, I don’t know.  But I didn’t want to take too much away from the colors – they’re so bright and bold and interesting together – I just wanted the color to be the main focus, and not so much about all the ‘extras’ that I could add to it.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Anyhoo.  It was a fun little experience for me – typically I would just let these challenges pass me by, since they don’t really jive with my favorite method of operation and I’m afraid to create with them.  But this month is about trying new things and stretching myself to improve.  So there you have it!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Big Wish (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White Cardstock (Papertrey Ink); Misc Cardstocks & Designer Papers
Inks:  Merlot, Sky Grey (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Rustic Cream Button Twine (PTI); Felt (PTI); Misc White Button; Sewing Machine Stitching
Tools:   Lacey Circles Die, Standard Circles Die (Spellbinders Nestabilities); Heart Prints Die, Double-Ended Banner Die (PTI)

4 thoughts on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 9} – Happy Birthday

  1. What a great job with these colors! I haven't worked on cards for a day or two…I need to get busy! We enjoyed a beautiful sunny warm weekend with family, a bike ride and a trip to the national park near us!

  2. So pretty, Ally! And such a great take on both challenges! I especially love the way you've hightlighted one of the happy birthdays! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

