31 Days of Card Making {Day 12} – Shall We Have A Tutorial??

Though I don’t really feel qualified to give instruction, and I’m sure most everyone has already figured out their own way of doing these flowers, I’ve had email questions about how I created the Bloom Builders 3 flowers in this post.  And since I don’t quite have a card to share today, I thought I’d do a quick tutorial with photos on how I created them.

Now, this is just me, sharing with you, how I (personally) make my flowers, in a way that worked best for me.  I did try a few different methods for getting them put together and adhered, and this is just what eventually worked for me.  Hopefully it will work for or help inspire someone else, too.

First, I sent the Bloom Builders 3 die through my Cuttlebug with the cardstock, using the metal shim that I purchased through Papertrey Ink.  With my Cuttlebug machine, I find that I have to use the shim, and I also have to send the sandwich through forward once, and then backward once, so it goes 2 times through the rollers.

This is what comes out (minus a few of the circles that popped out already):

My cardstock usually gets sufficiently lodged into the die, so I gently tap the die on the counter or table or something to help them to pop out of the die.  If that doesn’t seem to work, I move on to the next step I learned from the PTI DT – a piece of blue painter’s tape:

I keep this blue tape all over the house – on my Cuttlebug, on my paper cutter, on my Big Shot, on the counter… since I am always using it for one thing or another.  (I let the children use it to hang their pictures/drawings on the walls, since the painter’s tape doesn’t peel off the paint.  I absolutely ADORE blue painter’s tape!)

I first rub the tape on my shirt so it’s not fully sticky, then I stick it to the cardstock and gently pull up to get it to release from the die.  Sometimes it takes a few tries.  I might even have to use a piece of tape without rubbing it on my shirt, to get more stick factor, but I suggest doing that with caution so that your cardstock doesn’t become torn or split to shreds.

So here are all the pieces out of the die:

I keep all the little circles in a little container for some unexpected future use.  I secretly dream of making a cute little polka-dot card with them all glued on somehow. 😉

Before we talk about adhering all the pieces,…  I tried several types of glue for this project, and here is the glue that I prefer to use – Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue:

Obviously, I use the small-tip side, not the big brush tip on the bottom.  Cuz that would be messy and totally trash my gorgeous Bloom.

I keep the two largest layers right-side up, and turn all the others upside down.  First, I apply the glue to the center of one of those largest layers, not too generously because I don’t like to have the glue oozing out the sides and sticking to things it shouldn’t.  Then I stick the other layer onto that, being careful to stagger the petals to give it the overall fullness that I like.

Let me point out my little method here.  I noticed that the petals seem to alternate between a thicker petal and a thinner petal, except for one spot, where there are two thick petals together (I circled them in red in the above photo).  I use those two petals as my guide, aligning them for placement but then twisting them just slightly enough to stagger the petals.  (I know it’s terribly perfectionistic of me, but I have to have a little bit of order and predictability!)  This is what I usually end up with – a nicely staggered start to my bloom:
After that, I just try to make sure each layer I add is not perfectly aligned with the previous layer, because I like the staggered, full look.
Okay.  So then I take the 2 next-biggest layers (still upside down!) and put a little line of glue around the perimeter of the center, like so:
Then I turn it over and place it onto the stack (right-side up now!).  I use my finger (hang nails and all!), to press gently around the center to give the glue a little pressure and help it adhere a bit.
I’ve showed only one layer at a time with glue on it so far, but I usually like to glue up the first 6 pieces to have them ready to go.
Then I just keep adhering the layers, one at a time and glue-side down, making sure to center and stagger each of them over the previous layers.  There is a little bit of time for shifting the top layer to get it in the desired position, but be careful not to push and shove too much, because these are delicate petals!
So this is what I have so far, after 6 layers:
You can see that pressing down around the centers causes the petals to turn upward a little, which I just love, because it adds immediate dimension, and then all I have to do is fluff a little when I’m ready to add it to my project.
So, then I glue up the remaining 4 small pieces (as they sit upside down because I want the glue on the bottom side!), and then adhere each of them on top of the stack.
By the time I get to the two smallest layers, there is just enough room to barely get the center of that smallest layer into the center of the stack.  It doesn’t always like to stay put for me, especially with my sticky fingers that keep pulling it back towards me.
After I get those 2 smallest layers in place and hold for a second, and since my glue bottle is capped and sitting there all handy-like, I just grab the glue container and press the smaller tip down gently into the center for about 30 seconds to give the glue enough time to grab and set a bit.
You might not like this part, because it creates a little dimple in the center.  But I love it because it not only gets the center pressed down and sticking to the bottom layer of the bloom, but it also forces more of the petals upward – creating more fluff – and it’s the perfect little spot for me to poke a hole for my brad when I’m ready to use the bloom on a card.
The end result:
Now, this is what works for me.  I like the full, gorgeous, big bloom with all 10 layers.  But even so, I know there will be times when I will want to make a thinner bloom with only 5 layers, or even use only a few of the smallest layers for a smaller bloom where I will need the circles that were punched out to help ground the bloom.  I will probably still use glue for those somehow, because I like to know that my flower is not likely to ‘go’ anywhere and fall apart after I’ve created it.  Especially if I’m sending a card to someone with one on it.  Some might say that gluing it altogether makes it stiff and not so organic looking.  I’m okay with that.  This is the way I like it.
So there you have it – my very first tutorial!  I’d love to hear if you think it’s helpful in any way.  At the very least, I hope it inspires you to create something.
Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Paper/Cardstock:  Misc Yellow Cardstock
Tools:   Mono Multi Liquid Glue (Tombow); Bloom Builders 3 Die, Metal Shim (Papertrey Ink); Blue Painter’s Tape
2 thoughts on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 12} – Shall We Have A Tutorial??

  1. Thanks Ally, I used Tombow when I had a go, but I'm going to perservere and follow your tutorial because your blooms/flowers look beautiful!Many thanks for the tutorial :O)AuroraDawnxxx

  2. The teacher in you shines through this splendid tutorial Ally! The blooms is so pretty! But…I can't wait to see the polka dot card!!!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

