31 Days of Card Making {Day 13} – You Have To Be Honest With Me

EDITED TO ADD:  I am back here over a year later to confess that I know that this is one of the Ugliest Cards Ever.  If you’re just seeing this card for the first time, you can join me HERE on April 1, 2013, as I announce to the world that this card is one of those ‘never should have seen the light of day’ cards and I recognize it as such.  Actually, I recognized it as such on the day I created it.  But now we’re having a fun Blog Hop about it!  So come join us! 😉

So, I was feeling brave yesterday.  I tried the ColourQ #106 challenge and the Make It Monday #36 challenge.

The truth is, when I look at yellow and orange, I seriously have no idea what to do with them.  These are probably the 2 colors I most try to avoid.  (Although, I’ve been doing much better with yellow, lately.  But orange?  Orange I still don’t get.)

And the Make It Monday challenge this week is about faux watercoloring.  Which is funny, to me, because I don’t even know anything about REAL watercoloring!  Which, ironically, makes me a fine candidate to do something faux and not real, but I digress.

Well, the gist of the matter is, there are some colors and techniques that really make me scratch my head. 😉

Enough babble??

Honestly, I don’t know about this card.  But here is my yellow/orange, faux watercoloring card.

I had no idea how to go about doing a faux watercoloring piece – which stamps would be best to use, which inks would be best to use, I didn’t even have one of those nifty water brushes!  I was able to get to my local craft store with a 50% off coupon to get a brush, though, so I tried a couple of stamps with the technique from Nichole’s blog.  The only combination I really liked was the Beautiful Blooms II #1 dies with the flowers from the Sending You stamp set.

I stamped the flowers in a bright orange, and by the time I had watercolored a bit, it was a more calm melon kind of orange, which I liked better but I’m not sure went very well with the yellow now.  I think you can click on the photo to get a better look at the flower and how I watercolored it.

I’m thinking I should have just gone with the Halloween theme instead of trying to make it look all pretty n’ such.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

But I had no idea how to work in yellow and black and gray.  So I just inked the edges of the card in grey, made a doily from black cardstock, and put a strip of yellow across the bottom.

Now, you have to be honest.  Please tell me what you think!?!  Does it work?  Not so much?  Did I totally miss the mark?  It’s okay, you can be honest – don’t worry about hurting my feelings.  Like I said, I have no idea what to do with yellow and orange, so it’s not like I have special feelings about this card – LOL!

I really just wanted to make a card.  And since I was feeling pretty low-key about it all, I went with something I wasn’t comfortable with and tried something that was really weird to me.  Not sure how it turned out, though.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Communique Curves Sentiments; Sending You (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White, Harvest Gold, True Black (Papertrey Ink)
Inks:  Black, Sky Grey, Orange (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Glitter Brad (American Crafts, colored orange with a Sharpie); White Mini Pearls (Martha Stewart Crafts); Black Pearls (Kaisercraft); Sparkle Shimmer Spray (Tsukineko)
Tools:   Scor-Buddy; Doily Details C Die, Beautiful Blooms II #1 Dies, Damask Designs Impression Plate (Papertrey Ink); Double Loops Border Punch (Martha Stewart Crafts)
5 thoughts on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 13} – You Have To Be Honest With Me

  1. You are just too cute! I'm with you on the color thing…some are head scratchers and difficult to work with.I think all of the components of your card are really pretty.My eye say to add more of the orangey color.Perhaps with gems or replace the pearls with that color.I think it would help to pull the orange together with the other colors. But then again I'm no expert…LOL!!!

  2. I think the orange/melon works with the yellow. You did a nice job with the faux watercolor.It's the black accents that really stand out and feel out of place. Maybe if they were grey or chocolate?

  3. I like it. I do agree with Lisa that the black gems make the black stand out more than the orange. I'm also with you re Orange. If I could I wouldn't have it in my house!! But my children think otherwise. LOL.

  4. i like it just the way it is, but if you're like me, you'll be critical of yourself regardless of how great it already is. i'm a big fan of your design work. 🙂

  5. Hi Ally! You don't make any bad cards. I love this one. I'm sorry it was so hard for you…I have been feeling like that a lot lately but this particular challenge got me out of the funk. Maybe the next one will be just your style!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

