31 Days of Card Making {Day 14} – Celebrate Today

First, thank you to those who gave me honest feedback on my card yesterday.  I really, really appreciate it!  While I do like to play it safe, I also have the desire to improve my card-making abilities and to fill in my knowledge gaps, in areas like design layout and color application and such.  So I appreciate your taking the time to help me do that. 😉

And now, here is something that makes me feel a lot more comfortable!

Actually, when I saw these colors over at The Color Throwdown, I wasn’t very comfortable with them.  A little bright and bold for my liking.

But then I figured I would just break out my Banner Builders stamps and dies and try something with those – since I’ve had them for a few months now and still hadn’t broken them out yet.

My usual strategy for using red is to use as little of it as possible.  (hee hee)  I tolerate red a lot better than I do orange and yellow, but it still is a very overwhelming color for me, so I’m more likely to use it as an accent color rather than a main color.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I thought that using just a little bit of each color, with a lot of white space, would be totally safe.  So I went with that!  Haha!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Think Big Favorites #4; Banner Builder (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Dark Chocolate, Simply Chartreuse, Stamper’s Select White (Papertrey Ink); Misc Red and Aqua Cardstocks
Inks:  Chestnut (Colorbox); Versamark
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft; and Recollections, from Michaels); Clear Embossing Powder
Tools:   Pinking Shears (Fiskars); Banner Builder Dies (Papertrey Ink)
5 thoughts on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 14} – Celebrate Today

  1. I LOVE this Ally! I have become quite smitten with all of the little pennant/banner thingys. You nailed the colors on this one…CUTE!!!

  2. You really rocked these bold colors in this awesome banner! Love the simple, clean design! So glad you were able to play along with the Color Throwdown challenge!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

