31 Days of Card Making {Day 15} – Mehndi Thank You

Almost halfway there!  Actually, it’s hard to believe I’ve posted for 15 days in a row, so far.  I knew it wouldn’t be easy to post something every day for 31 days, but I wasn’t expecting just how tough it would be on some days.

We had cousins over last night for PrincessA’s slumber party, and they wanted to stay up all night – thank goodness they went to bed just after 11:00 after all!  And then a big breakfast this morning, and the toy mess just keeps getting bigger and bigger, and I confess, I’m a little tired.  But I am so happy that she is having a great time with her cousins, playing dress-up and giggling herself to sleep, and I hope that this will be a fabulous memory for her for years to come.

And then this morning, PrincessA came to me and gave me a big hug and kiss, saying, “Thank you for making the princess cake – it’s the most beautiful cake ever, so much prettier than I dreamed it would be.”  (Said with all the 8-year-old drama and enthusiasm she could possibly muster.)  It totally made all the work worth it. 😉  Before I get to my card, I thought you might like to see the masterpiece I created for her:

Now, I fully admit that I am not the world’s best cake decorator.  But before you question my color sensibilities based on that photo, remember that I had an 8-year-old girl hovering over my shoulder the entire time, dictating to me how every single last little detail should be, from the pink skirt to the orange bodice, the purple polka dots to the poofy red sleeves, and even the blue ‘lacey frills’ around the neckline and sleeves.  And apparently, this is the best cake E.V.E.R.  So I’m going with that! ;-D

Okay!  On to my card, which was in response to The Play Date Cafe challenge #103 to use the colors rust, storm, and deep sea:

Another combo I would not normally work with, if left to my own devices.  But I kinda enjoyed the process.

I wanted to try a little emboss resist with the Mehndi Medallion from PTI, and I wanted a bit of a rustic look to the card.  The medallions are heat embossed with white powder onto white cardstock, and then I sponged some blue ink all over it, with some tea dye distress ink around the edges.
Click on photo to enlarge for details.
Thanks for stopping by today. 😉  Hope you’re having a great weekend!
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Background Basics: Text Style, Mehndi Medallion, Communique Curves Sentiments, Fillable Frames #10 (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White Cardstock (PTI); Rust and Storm Cardstocks (Misc Stash)
Inks:  Chestnut, Rousillion, Harbor, Antique Pewter (Colorbox); Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Rustic Cream Button Twine (PTI); White Embossing Powder
Tools:   Fillable Frames #10 Die (PTI)
5 thoughts on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 15} – Mehndi Thank You

  1. So happy PrincessA had a good birthday celebration! Nifty work on that best ever cake too! As for your card…SPLENDID! I like yours better than mine HA!! Tough colors this time huh.

  2. Oooo! I LOVE all that scrumptious overstamping and inking! What a gorgeous card! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!And your daughter's cake is FANTASTIC! LOVE that you made it yourself, and I'm sure that she'll be telling its tale, one day, to her own little one!

  3. Lovely card, really elegant and your fabulous cake is in our challenge colours too, how fantastic! Ah such special memories for your daughter too! Thanks so much for joining in the fun with us over at the Play Date Cafe this week!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

