31 Days of Card Making {Day 21} – With Sympathy

Okay.  I have to admit that October is a tough month to do a 31-Day blogging challenge based on creating cards with the assistance of color challenges – IF one of your least favorite holidays is Halloween.  Personally, I don’t know how many more orange/green/purple/violet/black/brown type of challenges I can handle in the space of  31 days!!

Rant over.  If that qualifies as a rant. 

I saw the ColourQ #107 challenge and planned to skip it.  Until I saw the Color Throwdown #164 challenge.  At that point, I just shook my head for a few seconds, laughed a little bit, then resigned myself to defeat and got to work on a card.

I thought I would just make one card for one challenge – because these colors don’t exactly thrill me.  But halfway through my process, I noticed that the ColourQ challenge uses brown, and the Throwdown challenge uses black.  So I shook my head and laughed again, then got to work on two separate cards.

And actually, in the end, I find that I don’t really mind these colors, when they are arranged in certain ways and have nothing to do with Halloween – LOL! ;-D

Anyhoo.  Here is my first card:

I tried to follow my usual strategy of minimizing the colors I love least (which would be orange, in this combo) and maximizing the colors I prefer.
Click on photo to enlarge for details.
Thanks for stopping by today to see my ‘Halloween’ card. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Botanical Silhouettes, Peaceful Garden (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Autumn Rose, Dark Chocolate, Rustic White (PTI)
Inks:  Amber, Chestnut, Merlot, Moss Green (Colorbox); Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger)
Embellishments: Rhinestones (Recollections, from Michaels)
6 thoughts on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 21} – With Sympathy

  1. This is so pretty Ally! I'm with you on being OVER the Halloween colors,but you sure turned this one around into your favor! Great job!

  2. Sometimes it is hard to get colors that represent a theme or holiday to be interpreted into something else, but you did a wonderful job! I love your florals! Thanks for playing the CQC this week!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

