31 Days of Card Making {Day 25} – Papertrey October Blog Hop Challenge

One word:  Orange.
The universe must really want to see me get comfy with orange.
Here is the inspiration photo for Papertrey Ink’s October Blog Hop:
Photo Credit
It took me f.o.r.e.v.e.r. to gain any kind of inspiration from this photo and try to work it into a card.
Fortunately, though, I was able to get out for a little retail therapy a few days ago, and I found some designer papers that got my juices flowing a little bit.  It still took me quite some time to create something, but this is what eventually bubbled up, at the last minute:
The DP is by BoBunny, and though they’re not quite the shades of the inspiration photo, I actually like how this card turned out in the end, LOL.  I’m glad I was able to participate in the Blog Hop, after all.  And so proud of myself for using one of my PTI cardstocks that doesn’t usually see much action – Terracotta Tile!
I used an extra piece of cereal box to create a stronger Mat Stack frame, and then used a Fancy Flourish stamp to decorate the frame, turning the flourish in the opposite direction each time I stamped it.  I’m quite happy with how that frame came together.
Click on photo to enlarge for details.
I know it really doesn’t resemble anything from the inspiration photo, except the colors, vaguely.  And maybe the hint of a pumpkin shape in the Mat Stack die-cut frame.  But we’re talking orange here – I’m just glad I came up with an idea at all that was anywhere near the ball park! ;-D
Thanks for stopping by today.  You can find more wonderful creations along the Blog Hop over at Nichole’s blog.
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Flower Fusion #1, Flower Fusion #5, Flower Fusion #6, Fancy Flourishes (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White, Terracotta Tile (PTI); Designer Papers (BoBunny)
Inks:  Black, Coral, Old Rose, Moss Green (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft)
Tools:   Mat Stack 1 Mega Die, Mat Stack 1 Layerz Die (PTI)
28 thoughts on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 25} – Papertrey October Blog Hop Challenge

  1. Ally, your stamped frame is so pretty! I love that you used a flower and took color from the inspiration photo! Beautiful card!

  2. BEAUTIFUL Ally! You captured more than color from the photo; you have the fun patterns too. Very nice work. I totally forgot about the blog hop today; think I'm in a creative funk!

  3. Yay! Someone else using cereal boxes – I can't throw any packaging away since Erin's inspiration! Lovely card – I can see lots of photo inspiration here – shapes, colours, etc!

  4. This is so cute! I may have to break down and get the mega sized mat stack dies! I love the way you put it all together…and you do seem to be getting comfortable with orange. Thanks for your sweet and ever encouraging comments on my blog. 🙂

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

