31 Days of Card Making {Day 28} – Thank Heaven for Little Boys

Today’s card was created for Papertrey Ink’s Make It Monday #38 challenge for brayering and impression plate techniques:

I used the Book Print Impression Plate with the brayer and Colorbox’s Robin’s Egg ink over Vintage Cream cardstock.  I liked the splotchy, grungy look of it, so I didn’t work too hard to give it flawless coverage.

I think I am now half-heartedly creating with the thought in mind that this 31 Days challenge is essentially over.  Either that, or I’m busier than I thought and my mind is considerably occupied by other things.  Because this card took me a few hours to create and it felt like a very strained process.

I didn’t really have a plan in mind for the card.  I tried a few different impression plates with a few different ink colors, but this was the only one I liked at all.  So I decided to use the alphabet theme for a baby card.  And since I’ve already created 2 girl baby cards during this 31 Days time frame, I decided to go with a boy card.

Click on photo to enlarge for detail.

I’m not sure my blues work together, but with my brain and my creativity effectively stumped, I finally had to just stamp something on a Mat Stack frame and call it done at 11p.m. because I was desperate to go to sleep.

Well, I’m off to the dentist (oh joy).  Have a great day, everyone!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Hanging Out (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Vintage Cream, Dark Chocolate, Enchanted Evening, Spring Moss (PTI)
Inks:  Chestnut, Robin’s Egg (Colorbox); Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger)
Embellishments:  Rustic Cream Button Twine (PTI)
Tools:   Mat Stack #4 Die, Book Print Impression Plate (PTI); Scor-Buddy; Pinking Shears (Fiskars)
6 thoughts on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 28} – Thank Heaven for Little Boys

  1. I REALLY like that background Ally ~ great job! My DIL teaches 1st grade…this could come in handy!!! Good luck at the dentist 🙂

  2. I really like the background style, Allyson! I'm no color expert or designer, but I wonder if you wouldn't mind my thoughts on the color scheme, anyway. When you said you weren't sure if the blues worked together, I stopped to think about it, and my first idea was maybe that it would look better in a monochromatic scheme – just combining several different blues, instead of the green and the brown inking around the message plate. Just a thought. But I do like the design. 🙂

  3. This is a great card Ally! I love the color scheme and the alpha backgroud. Young Crafter's Unite is looking for masculine themed cards…this one is perfect for it! 🙂

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

