31 Days of Card Making {Day 30} – Happy Birthday To My Baby Girl!

Today is my oldest daughter’s birthday.  We had princess cake for the slumber party a few weeks ago, so I asked her to come up with a backup treat for today (because I really just didn’t want to make another cake so soon!), and she decided on chocolate-dipped strawberries.  A chip off the ol’ block, that girl!! ;-D  We are harvesting the last little bit from our strawberry patch – nearly 60 pounds of strawberries this season! – and using them for a birthday treat.  Mmmm, mmmmm!

So today I am posting the card that I made for her.  It doesn’t coordinate with any sketch or color combo challenges or anything.  It’s just a card with elements that I thought she might think are fun.  Mostly pink, and flowers, and pink, and butterflies, and pink – cuz she is definitely a girly girl who loves all things pink and princess-y!

She is officially 8 years old today and will be baptized this coming Saturday.  She is one of our three miracle children, because the odds were that we would never have children.  (Thank the Lord for blessing the world with medical discoveries to help fix those problems!)
I went through about 24 hours of labor to bring her into the world, and just after she was born, a gentle snow began to fall outside.  So we lovingly refer to her as our Snow Princess who brought in the first snow of that year.  And in spite of a C-section delivery, the days we spent in the hospital recuperating after her birth were some of the most calm, quiet, peaceful, magical moments of my life. 
Click on photo to enlarge for details.
She is my little singing child who isn’t intimidated by stage fright, like her Mommy often is.  I love seeing the light that shines through her eyes and her soul, never failing to be amazed by the wonderful, beautiful, delightful, imaginative person she is.  I am grateful to be her Mommy and her ‘teacher’, to be able to help shape her education and her character in these early years.  And I am eager every day to learn more about her and discover as she grows older who she is and what her purposes are in life.

Thanks for stopping by today and humoring me with a personal post.
-Ally

***Make sure you stop by tomorrow for a little surprise to wrap up my 31 Days series! 😉 ***

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Big Wish (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White, Lemon Tart, Scarlet Jewel, Autumn Rose, Raspberry Fizz, Hibiscus Burst, Sweet Blush (Papertrey Ink); Yellow Polka Dot DP (BoBunny); Misc Pink Designer Paper (Unknown Brand)
Inks:  Black (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Satin Saddle-Stitch Ribbon (Offray)
Tools:   Double Loops Border Punches (Martha Stewart Crafts); Blossom Dies, Butterfly Die (Spellbinders Nestabilities); Beautiful Wings Embosslits Die (Stampin’ Up!)
4 thoughts on “31 Days of Card Making {Day 30} – Happy Birthday To My Baby Girl!

  1. The happiest of birthdays to princessA!!! Your snow princess is adorable and has BEAUTIFUL eyes! I know she'll love your darling card Ally. Enjoy this day 🙂

  2. What a sweet little girl…as pretty as a picture. The card you made for her is lovely! It's so happy, bright and fun, like your little one I imagine!

  3. She's just beautiful! Such an infectious smile! And those laughing eyes!I was wondering if you'd consider adding the Follow by Email gadget to your sidebar… I'm horrible at keeping up with blogs unless they're delivered right to my inbox.Thanks!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

