Clean & Simple Baby Cards

Also on Saturday, in response to the Clean & Simple #164 sketch challenge:
I created this card:
In it’s former life, I’m pretty sure this card was a wedding card, and not a baby card.  I know it doesn’t look like a traditional baby card, but I found a couple of designer papers that I really wanted to use, and this card just kindof emerged.  And for some reason, I thought it would be fun to stamp on some ribbon for the sentiment panel and make it a baby card.
Click on photo to enlarge for details.
But after finishing it, I wondered, “Who on earth would I give this card to?!  The colors are masculine, but the glitter heart and the scallop matting are all dainty and feminine!”  I can’t give it to someone having a boy, and I can’t give it to someone having a girl.
But really, though, I think I would be happy to receive this card if I were having a baby, so maybe I’m underestimating this card.  It is still a nice card, in spite of suffering from an identity crisis, don’t you think?
Anyway.  Then I went to try again and created this card:

Definitely a girl card, but a little more involved in the details, so now I’m not sure it qualifies for the Clean & Simple category!

Click on photo to enlarge for details.
Oh well.  What’s done is done!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉

-Ally

Supplies Used:
Card #1
Stamps:  Hanging Out (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White, Ocean Tides (PTI); Designer Papers (K&Company Elegance Stack)
Inks:  Black, (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Glitter (Unknown Brand); Satin Saddle-Stitch Ribbon (Offray)
Tools:   Rounded Corner Chomper (We R Memory Keepers); Double Loops Border Punches (Martha Stewart Crafts); Hearts Dies (Spellbinders Nestabilities)
Card #2
Stamps:  Hanging Out (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White, Hibiscus Burst, Summer Sunrise (PTI); Designer Papers (BoBunny; DCWV Nana’s Kids Stack)
Inks:  Pink (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Machine Stitching; Rhinestones (Kaisercraft)
Tools:   Rounded Corner Chomper (We R Memory Keepers); Double Loops Border Punches, Butterfly Punches (Martha Stewart Crafts); Butterfly Dies (Spellbinders Nestabilities)
6 thoughts on “Clean & Simple Baby Cards

  1. Well I think they're both fabulous!!! LOVE the sweet sparkly heart on the 1st; I think it would be fine for a baby boy;afterall they aren't masculine when they're all pink and new!!! And the second is perfectly adorable for a baby girl! Have a great day 🙂

  2. great take on this sketch! i love the sparkly heart and flower, the loopy border, the pinked edges…any momma would treasure them!

  3. Ally, such FAB baby cards and not your typical ones either! A GOOD thing! LOVE the sparkly turquoise heart and LOVE that flower with the sparkles! Super creations both!

  4. Ally, I love both cards but am favoring that blue one. ANd I disagree — you most CERTAINLY can give that to someone having a boy! Well, at least someone who appreciates dainty things and an appreciation for the finer things in life. I think it's very lovely.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

