Make It Monday #39 – Project 1

I found some time to create yesterday.  Hooray!!!  And all I can say about yesterday, is thank goodness that making cards – for the most part – is something I can do during power outages.  Really, though, thank goodness the power came back on before it got really cold.

I always like to try to participate with Papertrey’s weekly Make It Monday challenge, although this week’s technique is not one in which I am very strong.  I think it’s because it seems to require a good design eye, and I feel like I am mostly fudging things, since I really have zippo design experience and know how.  Especially for a technique like this one – sometimes it feels like I’m throwing things at the wall and hoping that they’ll stick!  I might make cards, but I’m actually a wannabe well-designed-card maker. πŸ˜‰

Anyhoo.  Here is the first card I created using this multi-stamp background technique, pretty much imitating Nichole’s card:

The leaves from Turning A New Leaf were stamped using my new Spring Moss inkpad – fun!  Also included are some Beautiful Blooms blossoms, and some small flower clusters from the Tag-Its #5 set.  I ran that background panel through the Cuttlebug with my Linen Impression Plate for a little texture.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

The focal panel was made with my new Tag Sale #5 die, followed by some Limitless Layers circles, the top circle being stamped with the Tag-Its #3 frame, more flower blossoms, and a sentiment from Flower Fusion #4.  The Tag Sale #5 die-cut is also impressed with the Cane Print Impression Plate.

Most of those products are ones that I have not used yet, so that made me happy to use them.  I’ve been trying to make a point of using things I haven’t used yet, rather than just using the same old standbys over and over and over – in spite of how much I absolutely ADORE all my old standbys!!  I spend good money on crafting supplies, and I really want to make use of as many of them as I can.

Thanks for stopping by today. πŸ˜‰
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Beautiful Blooms II, Flower Fusion #4, Tag-Its #5, Tag-Its #3Turning A New Leaf (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Vintage Cream, Scarlet Jewel, Sweet Blush, Spring Moss (PTI)
Inks:  Spring Moss (PTI); Chestnut, Merlot, Rosebud, Dusty Plum (Colorbox); Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft)
Tools:   Cane Print Impression Plate, Linen Impression Plate, Limitless Layers 1-3/4″ Dies, Tag Sale #5 Die (PTI)
9 thoughts on “Make It Monday #39 – Project 1

  1. No fudging here Ally…this is simply deightful! If you threw this at the wall it would definatley stick!!! I love EVERYTHING about it; GREAT WORK! Happy to know you've got power again, I sure feel for all of those that were hit by the big snow storm in the east. We've been fortunate enough to have beautiufl weather the past few days.

  2. lovely! the background is balanced in shape and color, that #5 die is to die for (pun intended)…i adore the whole piece! i understand what you mean about using what you've got. i have so many supplies that i have never touched…i feel guilty about that because our hobby/passion is NOT an inexpensive one! i'm doing better at it, but there's always room for improvement. πŸ™‚

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

