Make It Monday #40 – Project 1

Stopping by to post a card for Papertrey Ink’s Make It Monday #40 (with video tutorial by Heather Nichols), on doing a reverse applique:

First, I am terrible at photographing white!!  It seriously kicks my tooshie, every time.  Hopefully you can see some of the details here.

When I think of appliques, I think of cute children’s clothing decor, and so my thoughts on this one went straight to baby land.  I used pinking shears on the Spring Moss mat layer, because pinking shears remind me of sewing.  I used two of the Heart Prints dies to cut into the white cardstock, then used the Cane Print Impression Plate to give a bit of a quilted feel to it.  I hope you can see the cane print impression, because I think it adds so much to the project. The patterned papers are from my stash, some of them quite old.

My first attempt did involve the actual sewing machine.  And you will not be seeing it, because it is highly embarrassing.  The second attempt at stitching, which you see here, was created by hand, poking holes around the hearts with my piercer and then hand stitching through the pre-made holes.  It’s still a bit crooked, but oodles better than the machine stitching!  Sorry.  My perfectionist tendencies took complete control over my body on this one.

I added a bit of stitching around the perimeter of the white layer, for a little something else.  (I just had to use the word perimeter, because PrincessA is learning about that this week!  Practical application – LOL!)  Then I added the banner with a button at the bottom.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉

-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Hanging Out (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Spring Moss, Stamper’s Select White (PTI); Polka Dot Designer Paper (BoBunny); Misc Designer Paper (Unknown Brand)
Inks:  Black, Pink (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Misc Pink Button (Unknown Brand); Misc Pink Thread; Yellow Embroidery Floss
Tools:   Double-Ended Banner Die, Heart Prints Die, Cane Print Impression Plate (PTI); Pinking Shears (Fiskars)
5 thoughts on “Make It Monday #40 – Project 1

  1. What a sweet baby card Ally! Good idea with the stitching. I trashed my first attempt too LOL…a real stinker, not sure if I'll have another go at it. That perfectionist blood runs through my veins too HAHA 🙂

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

