Papertrey November Blog Hop Challenge

Long time no post, eh??! 😉

Popping in with an entry for the Papertrey Ink November Blog Hop Challenge, which is based on this inspiration photo:

I used the colors from the photo, mainly, and maybe a snowflake.  I have actually been in mass production mode for the last 10 days.  I started to work on my lineup of 160 cards for friends/co-workers/neighbors, and got through 3 and a half sets (to be blogged about soon!) before my Mom called last Tuesday and requested that I make her some Christmas cards.  Using the photo colors, this is what I created for her:

My mom is a quilter, so I tuned in to some quilting elements that I thought might be fun for her to see in a personalized card.

I cut a green mat layer and pinking-sheared the edges.  Then I used the Cane Print Impression Plate to add what I thought was a perfect quilted-texture background.  At the bottom of the card is a glitter-red rickrack border, from the same glittered cardstock used for the snowflakes at the top.

(And may I just say, trying to find RED GLITTERED CARDSTOCK in November is really, really difficult!!  I had to make the rounds to all the local craft stores, and was lucky enough to find enough sheets at Joann!  Ahem.)

I used my recently received Mat Stack 3 Layerz die to create a green mat for the regular Mat Stack die layer made from white cardstock.  LOVE the Layerz and Mega Mat Stacks!!  I stamped a Signature Christmas sentiment in black at the bottom, and then two poinsetta blooms from the Tag Its #9 stamp set in red.  I used rhinestones to embellish this card, but in the end, I scrapped those for the entire set of cards in order to make mailing them a little more hassle free for her.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I thought it was very clever to incorporate some quilting type of elements (Can you hear that?? Yes, yes, it’s me… tooting my own horn – LOL!), and she seems to love the design, thank goodness.  I didn’t get a photo of it, but I did use a Stylish Sentiments: Holiday stamp on the interior.  Actually, it was a bit of a fiasco because, after finishing all the cards, I realized that I forgot to stamp the interior sentiment, so I had to go back and do that Wednesday afternoon, hoping the ink would dry in time to deliver them Thanksgiving morning!!

She originally asked me for 20 cards, and I thought, “No big deal!  I can churn that out easily before Thanksgiving.” (when we were due at their home.)  She changed the amount to 33 the next day, and before I knew it, the final tally reached 42.  So I made 44 – to keep the green and white mat layers in multiples of 4, for full-sheet cardstock cutting purposes, because I’m nice and orderly like that. 😉  The design wasn’t quite simple enough to make the process go quickly, so it took me a few days longer than I first thought it would.  But I hope she will love them!

A photo of the finished batch.

You can find more beautiful Blog Hop projects at Nichole’s blog.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉  I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!  We are setting up our Christmas tree and other decorations today, then painting Little Man’s room on Saturday.  I look forward to this long Thanksgiving weekend all year!
Cheers!
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Signature Christmas, Tag Its #9 (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White, Pinefeather (PTI); Glittered Cardstock (from Joann)
Inks:  Black, Cranberry (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft)
Tools:   Cane Print Impression Plate, Mat Stack 3 Die, Mat Stack 3 Layerz Die, RickRack Border Die (PTI); Snowflake Die (Spellbinders); Pinking Shears (Fiskars)
28 thoughts on “Papertrey November Blog Hop Challenge

  1. Whoa- that's a lot of cards! I am just really loving that impression plate with that snowflake- they seem like they were made for each other!

  2. Whoa, look at all those cards! You really have been busy, and what a wonderful design too with so many great elements. I love the cane print background and the pinked edges to your layer…and the layerz! Just gorgeous and first up on the blog too. Great job.

  3. BEEP,BEEP…I'm tootin' your horn too Ally girl, your mom is going to be so pleased with these! Love that you've added the quilted elements for her. Spectacular job can't wait to see your other mass productions 😉

  4. Ally you are such a sweetheart and I am sure your mom knows she is so lucky to have you. Beautiful cards, I love your design. What did you use to package the cards in the box?

  5. Super cute! Just out of curiosity… do you have a Cricut? Or Silhouette machine? I got one of the Cricut things from JoAnn's on their big sale today… and now I'm wondering if I'll really use it enough to justify having it. Any thoughts??

  6. Lovely layering of all the elements on your cards. Your die cutting machine must have gotten a real work-out!! The star is a wonderful focal point. I like the picture of all 44 cards lined up, ready for delivery. Such an awesome accomplishment.

  7. Oh I wish I had so many cards done and so organized! LOVE the glittery snowflake and the ric rac! LOVE the embossed background! GORGEOUS card, Ally!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

