Passing The Time

So, does posting every day in October make up for posting next to nothing in November…??!

It seems like there has been one thing after another preventing me from sitting down to create just a single card, for me.  I have been creating – a ton of cards, in fact.  I finally finished my 80 cards for neighbors, and also the 20 Christmas cards for my brother, and 44 Christmas cards for my mom.  So I guess I’ve made about 144 cards in the last month or so.  But it would be nice to have some unhurried free time to just sit and think and create one little card just for creativity’s sake, you know?

I originally planned to make our own 60 Christmas cards for sending out to friends and family, but after all those other cards, I just wasn’t feeling up to it.  So I went with the digital-scrapbook/photo card this year.  Sometimes I feel like that’s a cop out for me.  But I did design it myself and spent a few hours doing so, so I definitely put the effort into it, however meager and amateurish it is!  Oh well.  I’m just ready for things to chill out and settle back into ‘normal.’

I thought you might like to see what I’ve been up to the last few weeks, besides the mass production of Christmas cards. 😉

A few weeks ago, I attended a ladies’ church activity where we learned to make pie crust.  I have never made pie crust before, most likely because pie just isn’t my treat of choice and I have no real interest in making it.  But I was sufficiently roped into this event, so I gave it a go.  My husband is a die-hard pie lover, though, so I knew I would be WOTY (Wife Of The Year) when I brought that baby home.  He was thrilled to see it, and even more thrilled when we actually filled it with apples and sauce and turned it into a dutch apple pie:

And I have to admit, it turned out really delicious, especially with Hubby’s homemade ice cream.  And I will probably try it again in the future.  Funny, isn’t it?  How we spend time avoiding things that really aren’t that bad in the end. 😉

Two days before Thanksgiving, while still trying to finish up my mom’s Christmas card stack, she called me to let me know my youngest sister – who is really struggling in life after having being injured in a car accident 12 years ago and having a portion of her brain removed, and whom I haven’t seen in years – was planning to attend Thanksgiving dinner, and since her birthday was on the 19th, would I please consider making/bringing her a gift of some sort, maybe some bookmarks, because she loves to read.

Well, I was so busy finishing up her cards and feeling a bit scatter-brained, I barely managed to get to the store to buy her a reading book and some crossword puzzle books and make one bookmark to stick in the book:

I used last week’s Make It Monday technique for background layering with stamps, but I never found time to submit it.  I wasn’t really pleased with the results anyway, so I guess I don’t mind that it wasn’t submitted.

But I somehow also managed to try my first gable box template (that I picked up from Nina Brackett’s website more than a year ago) and make a little box full of chocolate goodies for her as well:
I can’t believe I didn’t try it sooner, because it was quite easy to assemble, and I think I’ll use it again in the future.  Although, I think the green I used here is a little overpowering, but I still kinda like the thing.
I guess my mind was calling me to create other things, because on the eve of Thanksgiving, late in the evening, I felt compelled to try to make some last-minute wine bottle tags for my non-wine bottles of sparkling cider (since we are LDS and do not consume alcoholic beverages) to give to my mom as a little token of thanks for hosting Thanksgiving dinner:

I’ve seen lots of the tags after the PTI release with the wine-bottle-tag die, and though I didn’t order the die because I didn’t think I would use it (being a non-alcoholic-beverage consumer, after all), I was suddenly overcome with the urge to make some tags for my non-alcoholic beverage containers.  So I used my Tag Sale #5 die instead, cutting it a little longer by adjusting the die and cutting twice with it (to make it a little longer) and using a circle die to cut the top to fit the bottle.

I had received some complimentary Inkadinkado Thanksgiving stamps in an order I placed a few weeks back, so I used the words and leaf stamps to create the tags.  I also used a PTI Fillable Frames die for the label, and PTI’s Picnic Plaid Impression Plate for some texture, and some Rustic Cream Button Twine with a miscellaneous button and some rhinestones for embellishment.  I thought it turned out pretty cute.  I probably still won’t purchase the wine bottle tag die, though, since these improvised tags worked our fairly well and weren’t too troublesome to make, and I wouldn’t really make them often as it is.
Following Thanksgiving is what can easily be described as my favorite time of the year – the 3 days after Thanksgiving.  It’s just me, my husband, and our 3 children – just our little family – with 3 days to be together while Hubby is off work, putting up our tree and decorating for Christmas, watching fun Christmas shows and listening to our favorite Christmas carols, watching some football, going out to dinner, driving around to see all the community/neighbor Christmas lights displays, and enjoying some really relaxing down time.
I decided this year to let the children put the ornaments on the tree, and then promised myself not to fiddle with them.  I usually do fiddle with them, re-organizing them after they go to bed for a more even distribution. 😉  But this year, I actually don’t feel any gumption to do so.  We have little children, and our Christmas tree reflects it, so what?!
We also took on the challenge of painting Little Man’s room on Saturday, since his was the only unpainted room in the house and has been since he was born:

He was so thrilled to be painting right alongside his daddy, and all day he kept saying, “I can’t believe this is the best day of my life!”  It was so dang cute.  As you can see, we used green and blue (which he selected himself, with Mom’s approval, of course) – two opposing walls in green, and the other two opposing walls in blue.  I am so happy to have that project completed.  Although, I keep losing my Little Man to his room because he loves being in there more than ever now!

I also like Christmas Day and the time off Hubby has there as well, but there is just something about the 3 days after Thanksgiving that makes me feel like I could die right then and go to heaven and life would have totally been worth every minute, just for those 3 days with my little family.  I just love it!!
And then ‘the Monday after’ comes.  And the homeschool routine has to be picked up again, and it’s busy and sometimes crazy, and full of kranky-pants attitude from the kids…. and life goes on – LOL! ;-D
Christmas shopping is complete, the digital Christmas cards have arrived in the mail and are ready to be sent to loved ones in a week or so, and I finally did finish all my neighbor/co-worker/friend cards (hoping to post about those in the next few days), so now I just have to get them wrapped up all cute-like and ready for distribution, along with a few other little neighbor gifts, and I’ll be set.  I like to have most everything finished before December even begins so I can relax and coast into the Christmas/New Year’s holidays and really enjoy the time, rather than rushing about and crazy.
During the month of December, at bedtime we like to turn out all the lights except the garland and tree and little village and then sing songs while lounging around at the foot of the tree.  It’s prime time for cuddling with little children!
I am also hoping that I will have some time to make some cards and start up again with some challenges and such.  With the money I earned making cards for my mom and brother, I was able to purchase a few more PTI wish-list goodies, so I’m looking forward to when those will arrive.  As if I don’t have enough PTI goodies to play with already!!!  But I’m sure you crafters know what I’m talking about, right??! 😉  Really, I only purchased some scor-tape and new ribbons, and replenished my spent supply of vintage cream felt.  But PTI goodies are PTI goodies, just the same!!
And on a rather unpleasant personal side note, there has been growing concern that my gallbladder may need to be removed in the near future.  Though I am promised it will help alleviate many different pains/symptoms I am currently having and possibly help me feel a little better overall, I am not exactly looking forward to it and hoping to put it off until after the new year begins.
Anyhoo!  Thanks for stopping by today.  😉
-Ally
2 thoughts on “Passing The Time

  1. Wow what a delightful post Ally! You're speaking my hubby's language with the mention of apple pie ~ hee! Your bookmark and goody box were too cute. So happy you got to spend time with your sister. I will keep her in my prayers. The cider tags are are stellar, bet your mom loved them. Little man and daddy painting…come on…WAY TOO PRECIOUS!!! Good to catch up; I'll keep you in my prayers too ~ feel better 😉 I'll be in & out with posting; my hubby has neck surgery tomorrow. Take care!!!

  2. Busy!! That's what I think when I read this post… but it looks like it's been the fun kind of busy! I'm sorry you may have to have surgery. :S Hopefully, if you do need it, it will help!Love the Christmas tree… I too tend to fiddle with the tree. I did pretty good this year. I think I moved 3 ornaments. Only because they had pictures of the kids on them and they were either turned backwards or the picture was covered by another ornament 🙂 I'm pretty pleased with myself 😉

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

