Make It Monday #43 and Play Date Cafe #109

I gave Make It Monday #43 another go, this time using the Play Date Cafe #109 colors (aren’t they so fabulously beautiful??!  Oh my stinkin’ word!):

My creation:

I pictured a flower ensemble at the bottom with some pleated ribbon, and I was certain that my new Simple Sunflower stamp set would be perfect – and I’ve really been wanting to break it open and give it some attention.  These sunflowers are my new absolute favorite, I believe.  So gorgeous in detail, and fun to create!

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I’m a little stunned that I was able to pull off a card like this, because my constant urge/impulse is to add mat layers, because they give me the sensation that I have a way to hide my mistakes or weaknesses a little better.  Single-layer cards are NOT my specialty.  They intimidate me, actually.  But I love them and always find myself wishing I could create them, like so many in Creative Blogland are able to do.

Anyway.  This card makes me smile.  I really love it.  I think it’s another perfect reflection of how I like my cards – simple but pretty.  And I think I would pee my pants in glee if someone sent a card like this to me in the mail – LOL! ;-D

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Fancy Flourishes, Simple Sunflower (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White Cardstock (PTI)
Inks:  Coral, Sky Gray (Colorbox); Chocolate (Hampton Art A La Mode)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Satin Saddle-Stitch Ribbon (Offray)
Tools:   Simple Sunflower Die Collection (PTI)
17 thoughts on “Make It Monday #43 and Play Date Cafe #109

  1. Yeah, Ally! There is something really special about using the sunflowers in this non-traditional color scheme that I am crazy about. Thanks for the inspiration-I will play with my own stamp set and think more creatively with it! The overall impact is elegant-love the flourish in the background!

  2. What an absolutely fab card–LOVE the non traditional flower colors! I also used ribbon pleating on my submission–it's the first time I've done it and it's so much fun! 🙂 Found you via PDC. 🙂 Love the bling, too!

  3. Oh, gorgeous! I love your placement of the flowers and your lovely ruffled ribbon. I tried to make a card with these colors and just couldn't do it–yours looks great!

  4. Beautiful! I think these are such fresh colors … and your sunflower turned pink is perfect! Love the pleated ribbon too. Thanks so much for joining us this week in the Cafe! HUGS.

  5. This is so pretty, Ally! I LOVE that flourish, and your ribbon treatment is over-the-top fabulous! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

  6. This is beautiful! I just love your take on the colours and your pleated ribbon is divine! Thanks so much for playing along with us at The Play Date Cafe this week!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

