Sketchbook Saturday #40 and CAS-ual Fridays #30

I tried two new challenges yesterday – Sketchbook Saturday and CAS-ual Fridays.  Hopefully I’ve met all the requirements!

I’ve been blog-stalking both of them for a while, trying to work up the courage to join in.  I always struggle with feeling like my creations are ‘not that great’ and doubting whether they are share-worthy, but I finally dove into the challenges yesterday.  Actually, I guess it’s today that I’m feeling brave, since the bravery isn’t required for making the card, it’s required for actually SHARING the card!

Anyway, here it is:

For the CAS-ual Friday challenge, I chose Scallops/Polka Dots/Pink as my Tic-Tac-Toe line.  To be honest, though, I’m not really sure what ‘clean and simple’ means.  I tried to do clean and simple here, so I hope it comes across that way.  It certainly was a simple card to make – less than 20 minutes, I think (which is very, VERY quick for me!).

I’m not always great at sketch challenges, but this one felt comfortable right from the start.  Maybe that’s because I paired it with another challenge, both of which basically handed me all the elements necessary – color, placement, shape, design, etc.

I was also happy to introduce myself to my new Butterfly Dreams stamp set.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

It felt like a breeze to create this card, and I really like it.  It suits me perfectly!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Butterfly Dreams, Communique Curves Sentiments, Harvest Berries (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Dark Chocolate, Kraft, Stamper’s Select White, Sweet Blush (PTI); Polka-Dot Designer Paper (BoBunny)
Inks:  Chestnut, Pink (Colorbox); Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Frost Shimmer Spritz (Tsukineko)
Tools:   Butterfly Die, Harvest Berries Die (PTI); Threading Water Border Punch (Fiskars)
7 thoughts on “Sketchbook Saturday #40 and CAS-ual Fridays #30

  1. Ahhh the sweetness of polka dots. This is just delightful Ally, you've done a fabulous job with both challenges. CAS is HARD for me too!!! I always want to add more or bling it up. I see why you wanted to use your new butterfly set…pretty 🙂

  2. You have nothing to be afraid of!!! This card is out of the world amazing! Wow, love how the colors interact with the other and the overall movement in your card. Love the little details yet you still managed to keep it clean and simple. Fantastic job in my opinion! Thanks for playing at CAS-ual Fridays!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

