Embellish Magazine Banners Color Trends

I made a card for the current Embellish Magazine challenge, using banners:

It’s my first time with this challenge, and I’m embarrassed because I think my printer was playing tricks on me again.  My printout of the above photo made the purple look more lavender or pink than it looked when I came back to the computer after creating my card.

At any rate, this is the card I created in response to the challenge:

Though it is barely noticeable in the photos, I used PTI’s Background Basics: Newsprint stamp set in grey for the background behind the banner.  I received my new PTI ribbons in the mail yesterday morning, so I immediately put some of them to use here – making a little banner of ribbon strips held together by a strand of caramel-colored embroidery floss.  The rhinestones are Kaisercraft champagne in color.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

The teeny tiny scallop circles are from the smallest die in the Spellbinders Dahlia Nestabilities set.  I thought they were so very adorable.

And now, I am just going to go sit down and chill for a little bit and rest my poor nerves, because as I was typing this post, my little 5-year-old daughter darn near choked on a piece of orange.  Thank the Lord that a little bit of the ol’ Heimlich was all she needed to spew it out!  ACK!!!! :-S  Fortunately, I was able to stay calm.  Unfortunately, I think I now have the shakes and probably won’t sleep very well tonight.
Nevertheless, thanks for stopping by today.  πŸ˜‰
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Background Basics: Newsprint, Communique Curves Sentiments, Tag Its #10 (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White (PTI)
Inks:  Chestnut, Sky Grey (Colorbox); Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Misc Embroidery Floss; Grosgrain Ribbon (PTI)
Tools:   Dahlia Die Set (Spellbinders Nestabilities); Crop-A-Dile Hole Punch (We R Memory Keepers)
4 thoughts on “Embellish Magazine Banners Color Trends

  1. Oh goodness Ally what a scarey moment for you and your little one. Thank the good Lord all is well. Whew πŸ™‚ Now onto this precious card. I am totally smitten with little banners. I really should make more of them. You've REALLY inspired me with this one made of ribbon and tiny flowers! LOVE IT πŸ˜‰

  2. I am so glad she is okay. It never gets any easier with your kids–once a mom a mom forever. Your card is fantastic–I love how you used the grosgrain to created your banner–so creative.

  3. Hey! Do you think I could buy a bunch of cards from you for our hospital gift shop? I would love to sell them in there. Get well soons and congrats on the baby type cards? Let me know

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

