Make It Monday #46 and Misc

On Monday, I made a couple of folded tags for Papertrey’s Make It Monday #46 challenge, also using the Play Date Cafe’s color splash challenge (from last week).  Then my daughter’s dance rehearsal and recital hit that night and Tuesday night, and the week promptly fell to shambles.

Let’s just say, I don’t deal well with too much stress!  It didn’t help that the dress rehearsal was scheduled for 8:15pm, so I spent a good portion of the day worrying about whether her makeup and hair were okay (I’ve never done stuff like all this wonderful world of dance stuff, and I am soooo NOT a girly girl!).  But we apparently didn’t get the phone call or email messages that morning to tell us the rehearsal had been changed to 3:45pm, earlier that day.  So I was totally set up for CRAZY right from the get go.

Fortunately, 3 other parents didn’t get the messages either, so there were a couple of other girls there to practice the dance with her.  The recital the next night went just fine, and she did a great job.  So all’s well that ends well.

Anyhoo!  Here are the two tags I created, with outdated challenge colors, no less!  I didn’t even get a chance to submit them to the PDCC.

Remember when I said glitter and I don’t get along very well??  Yeah, I don’t know why this time would be any different, and I fully admit that the tag on the left was a very, very, very bad idea on my part.  My glue pen must really be going dry, because the glitter was barely sticking to this tag, so it was all over my hands and clothes and counter, and is now all over the table where I photographed it, and my paper trimmer where I set it down afterward,….

Ahem.  This little experiment did very little to improve my relationship with glitter.

But let’s move on!  Here are the insides of the tags:

I have a bit of trouble with my Tag Sale #3 die, getting too much pressure from my machines, which makes the little embossed dot areas punch clear through the cardstock instead of just being embossed.  Anyone have that same problem or know what to do about it…??  I wish I knew, because it deters me from using the die, and I really, really like the die otherwise.

Anyway.  I always think I’ll start early and be prepared to coast into Christmas, but it’s not working out that way this year.  I am nowhere near ready, and my body is forcing me to slow way down after a crazy, busy few weeks of gift preparations, family parties, work parties, recitals, and such.  So, this is the point where I do only the minimal that really needs doing, then let go of everything that didn’t get done, and enjoy the next week with my family while Hubby has some time off from work, to celebrate Christmas, the New Year, and my birthday.  Hopefully I’ll get a few days of sleeping in accomplished!

Merry Christmas, my dear readers!!  I’m sure you’re off doing more important things than reading blogs, but in the unlikely event that you actually ARE reading blogs…  I just wanted to say thank you for reading my blog and sharing some of your precious time with me.  You’ve made this year a fun one for me, with all your lovely comments and encouragement.  I hope you have a wonderful time over the next week or so, with many happy moments and memories!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Snowflake Tag
Stamps:  Tag Its #9, Take A Bough (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White (PTI)
Inks:  Black, Turquoies (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Grosgrain Ribbon (Offray); Glitter (Unknown Brand)
Tools:  Damask Snowflake Dies (PTI)
Ornament Tag
Stamps:  Christmas Labels, Take A Bough (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White (PTI)
Inks:  Black, Chestnut, Turquoise (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Glossy Accents; Grosgrain Ribbon (Offray)
Tools:  Tag Sale #3 Die (PTI)
8 thoughts on “Make It Monday #46 and Misc

  1. Ally, your tags are gorgeous. Your glitter is fabulous. I love the blue. I am so glad that your daughter's recital wwnt well. I totally get the make up, clothes dance thing. Been there too.Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  2. I for one love to read your blog 😉 Ahhh the headaches and heartaches of glitter, I know them well. But your tag is still pretty! And I am so in love with the ornaments hanging from the branch tag!!! I had only one son (grown man now!) so no make up problems, just a black eye from a line drive baseball. Sorry for the rambling ~HA! Anyway my sweet friend…Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and Happy Birthday! I have one REAl soon too!!! Blessings to you and your family ally 😉

  3. Oh yah….Dance recital!! It took me three weeks to recover from my first this summer. YOU SURVIVED, girl! 😉 I LOVE your tags, even if you didn't intend for the holes to punch. The glitter? It looks awesome-I wouldn't have known the torture. Have a blessed Christmas, Ally. 😉

  4. Oh, Ally! Love these! I think my favorite is the tag sale die, surprisingly. I'm a real fan of snowflakes. I hope your Christmas has been as peaceful and happy as mine. I look forward to the coming year of sharing our love of papercrafting. Have a great week!

  5. Ally, just getting around to some of my FAV blogs (yours being one of course!) LOVE both tags but must admit I don't even attempt glitter! LOL! Wish I could help you with the tag die question but honestly I like the look of the punched out holes! FAB tags! LOVE the colors! Happy New Year!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

