ColourQ and Sketchbook Saturday

Hubby went back to work for yesterday and today before having another 4-day weekend off for the New Year.  And since we’re still officially on Christmas break for our little homeschool, I took a little time yesterday to try to get back into the swing of making cards.

I used the Sketchbook Saturday #43 and the ColourQ #117 challenges to aid my very rusty creativity!

My creation:

The flower is from my summer vacation flower stash, and I was also fortunate enough to find in my craft stash an American Crafts glitter brad that seemed to match perfectly.  The background paper and the black/white DP block are embossed specialty papers I found on ebay years ago.  They’re a little shimmery in real life, as is the cardstock I used to cut the Parisian Doily.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I broke out my recently received Love Story stamp set from Verve for the sentiment, embossing it onto a die-cut from the same shimmery cardstock.  I used a little charm from a wedding pack I found at my local Roberts store clearance sale.  They are closing their brick-and-mortar stores in our area, which makes me sad, because I appreciate being able to jaunt out and grab things when I’m in a hurry, rather than having to depend on the often-unreliable shipping from online companies.  But, oh well.  Hopefully my crafting life will go on!

Here are the challenge photos:

It was nice to be creative today, just for the heck of it.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Love Story (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White Cardstock, True Black (PTI); Ivory Shimmer Cardstock (DCWV Shimmer Stack); Coral Shimmer Cardstock (Unknown Brand); Designer Papers (Unknown Brand)
Inks:  Versamark
Embellishments:  Black Embossing Powder (Darice); Glitter Brad (American Crafts); Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Silver Double-Heart Charm (Darice); Black Ribbon (Offray)
Tools:   Bloom Builders 3 Die, Parisian Lace Doily Die, Limitless Layers Dies (Papertrey Ink); Scallop Trim Border Punch (Stampin’ Up!)
6 thoughts on “ColourQ and Sketchbook Saturday

  1. Oh what a beauty this is Ally! Love that you matched the gems to your pretty vacation flower. And the little charms set this off quite nicley 😉 Happy New Year to you and yours!!!

  2. Ally this card is beautiful and so elegant. I don't know where to begin because there are so many wonderful elements to it. What I love? the flower, the gems, the charms, the sentiment, how you used a die cut inside the doily. Somebody will be very lucky to receive this amazing card. So many stores around me have closed and I am now relying on Michael's and online. 😦 Happy New Year!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

