Play Date Cafe 112

So, when my children are ill and vomiting, I tend to try to occupy myself with busy work in between ‘episodes’, so that I don’t freak out about what’s happening to them and end up frightening them because I’m so uptight and… well, freaked out.

Two of them have been down and out since Wednesday this week, so I spent a bit of my angst on Thursday by creating cards.  Six cards, to be exact.  In one day.

(I know!! You’re wondering how on earth I can work card making in while they’re going through all this vomiting!!  It’s weird, I know.  Soooo very weird!  But I don’t know what else to do with myself while we’re anxiously waiting for what’s up next – if you know what I mean.  So while they rest temporarily, I very nervously make a card.  Bizarre, really, I know.  But it helps keep me calm. And keeping me calm helps keep them calm. Which makes a big difference!)

Anyway!

My girls are finally feeling better today, so I may be finished burning up all that nervous energy.  But I don’t mind!!!  I’d rather have my little ones healthy and well and me with no cards, rather than them not well and me having a bunch of cards!  We’ll see how Little Man fares in the next day or two – I’m hoping the bug will just pass him by without a second glance.

At any rate, I have a card to share with you. 😉  Haha!  This one was created for the Play Date Cafe Challenge #112:

As you know, I put a lot of effort into cards for Christmas this year.  So I’m about spent on Christmas-themed cards, and basically only used the colors from the beautiful inspiration photo.

So I made a little Thinking of You card instead with this color combo, using my Botanical Silhouettes stamp set.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Really simple.  Because, let’s face it, though I’m trying to spend nervous energy by making cards while my children are ill, under the circumstances, I don’t necessarily have a lot of brain power to invest, whilst having to drop everything and run in a split second when their lunch comes flyin’ back out at me!

TMI.  I know.  Sorry.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Botanical Silhouettes (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White, Ripe Avocado (PTI)
Inks:  Chestnut, Chianti, Moss Green (Colorbox); Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger)
Embellishments:  Lace (Offray); Pearls (Recollections, from Michaels)
Tools:   Rounded Corner Chomper (We R Memory Keepers); Scor-Buddy

10 thoughts on “Play Date Cafe 112

  1. So sorry your kids have been ill, Allyson. That really stinks, being so close to the holidays. :(At any rate, you've created a top notch card: I absolutely love this! Glad all that nervous energy went into something worthwhile. ;)Thanks for playing with us at The Play Date Cafe, and Happy New Year!

  2. Oh my goodness Ally so sorry your kiddos are down with the flu bug. Poor babies 😦 Hope everyone is better soon. This card is one of my favs from you! Just beautiful, the design, the lace trim, the pearls…everything! Great job 😉

  3. Ally I am glad your babies are feeling better. It doesn't matter how old they are, Moms freak out when they are sick. I totally get the card making, when I am stressed or worried or even down I find spending time in my studio is what I need to keep my sanity. Your card is fabulous so that pent up angst helped you create a lovely card. Happy New Year!

  4. Has "it" all stopped yet? You poor thing (along with your children of course!) I LOVE this card! It may be CAS but it would certainly be a lovely happy card to send to someone to let them know they are special! Happy New Year my blog friend! I look forward to visiting with you more in 2012!

  5. Oh, you poor thing! I've so been there! Praying your little ones getter well soon! In the meantime, keep those cards coming, because this is FANTASTIC! LOVE it to pieces, especially on that bright white base! Thanks so much for playing along with us at The Play Date Cafe!

  6. What a pretty card. I love that ribbon and those pearls are simply perfect! Thanks for playing with us at The Play Date Cafe!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

