ColourQ 118 and Mojo Monday 222

After our long Christmas/New Year’s break – with trying to get back into lessons and an inpromptu dinner visit from my in-laws tonight – it was a little hectic and disorganized today.  I managed to make two cards, but I am fairly disatisfied with both of them.  That could simply be due to mood, though, after a crazy day.

The first is for the ColourQ #118 and Mojo Monday #222 challenges combined:

For this card, I started out with one set of patterned papers, and it was going nowhere.  So I changed to another set of patterned papers, and it likewise went nowhere.  So I kept just two of the patterned papers and went with solids for the rest.

This card-making experience is a perfect example of how I not only don’t do well with sketches, but I also struggle with using patterned papers.  I kept trying to make things work, but the time investment was eating into our first day back into lessons, so I finally had to just pull something out of it all and call it good.  Or, call it done, anyway.

I wanted to use Verve stamps for my Mojo card, but my stash of one-line Verve sentiments is very slim.  So I used this birthday sentiment, bending it to go with the curve of the banner.  LOVE THAT about clear stamps!!  I think Verve sentiment stamps are next on my shopping list…

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I am happy that I was able to use another of my crocheted flowers.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Big Wish (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White, Hawaiian Shores (PTI); Designer Paper (DCWV Nursery 8×8 Pad); Misc Cardstock (Unknown Brand)
Inks:  Coral, Merlot (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Polka-dot Ribbon (Offray); Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); White Brad (American Crafts)
Tools:   Floral Doily Die, Standard Circles Dies, Ribbon Banners (Spellbinders); Scallop Trim Border Punch (Stampin’ Up!); Elegant Leaves Die (Verve); Musical Flourish Embossing Folder (Cuttlebug)

10 thoughts on “ColourQ 118 and Mojo Monday 222

  1. Seriously Ally this card shows no signs of your struggles. It is very cute and your patterned paper came together perfectly. Hey, chalk it up to mood because your card is awesome! 😉

  2. Hey girl… this is out of this world sweetness! Gosh I love the pretty polka dot ribbon you ended up with and the adorable blossom! Superior job here! HUGE HUGS and congrats on you PDCC Fab Four!!! Well deserved for sure. Loved that card too 😉

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

