Play Date Cafe 113

I was so thrilled to see that another of my cards was mentioned, this one for last week’s Play Date Cafe challenge #112!  Which… somehow… makes all the vomiting worth it…??  That doesn’t sound right.  Whatever!  I’m just happy my card made the Fab 4 list! 😉  LOL

So, this week’s Play Date Cafe colors are just gorgeous.  Gor-geous.  I mean, they always are gorgeous.  But I just LOVE these colors – so calm and serene and peaceful and beautiful and fun and…

Yada yada.

When I studied the challenge photo, I kept coming back to those circles in the top left segment.  I ignored them at first and created a card based on just the colors (I’ll share that later).  But then my mind came back to the circles, and I created this card next:

It’s a lot more modern than I usually create or am interested in.  And looking at the photo now, I’m thinking there are a tad bit too many circles.  But I had this vision of the circles in my head, and I knew I couldn’t rest until it was out of my head and onto a card.  I debated whether or not to swipe the edge of the entire top panel in black ink, to give it a little definition.  But in the end, I decided to just go with the nice, clean whiteness of it all.

I kinda like it.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

And though I’m not officially entering this card, I’m sharing the first card I made with the colors, to satisfy the curiosity of any who might be wondering how it looked:

This card came about from my desire to open up my new Waltzingmouse stamps I received in the mail this week.  It’s not really my favorite card.  I fussy cut the flower and leaves from some DCWV Linen Closet DP I had.  On the full 12×12 sheet, these look like flowers, amongst all the other little flowers and such.  But here by itself, it just reminds me of a head of lettuce, or a cabbage.

Anyway.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photo
SUPPLIES USED:
Card #1
Stamps:  Signature Greetings (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White Cardstock (PTI); Solid and Designer Cardstocks (DCWV Linen Closet Stacks)
Inks:  Black (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections, from Michaels)
Tools:   Standard Circles Small and Large Dies (Spellbinders Nestabilities); Circle Punches (Marvy Uchida and EK Success); Rounded Corner Chomper (We R Memory Keepers)
Card #2
Stamps:  Communique Curves Sentiments (Papertrey Ink); Very Vintage Labels 18 (Waltzingmouse Stamps)
Paper/Cardstock:  Vintage Cream (PTI); Solid and Designer Paper (DCWV Linen Closet Stacks)
Inks:  Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger)
Embellishments:  Pearls (Recollections, from Michaels); Machine Stitching
Tools:   Labels 18 Dies (Spellbinders Nestabilities); Sewing Machine
6 thoughts on “Play Date Cafe 113

  1. Oh the circles are FUN Ally! I like to do cards like this from time to time and I love the way yours turned out. And your second card looks splendid too, I see you got the labels 18! Have a great weekend!

  2. Oooo! I "kinda" 😉 like them, too, Ally! These are brilliant! LOVE that bright white background, your touches of shimmer and shine, your graphic design… Well, let's just simplify. I LOVE it all! Your first take is ever so pretty, too! TFS! And thanks so much for playing along with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

  3. Allyson, I really like your dots card! And even though these soft colors for our challenge might look like they are crying for a 'vintage look', you've totally rocked the modern look with them!Thanks for playing with us at The Play Date Cafe, and Happy New Year!

  4. WOW! You've been busy! LOVE that you made so many cards using this color story! That's fab! And I LOVE those with sympathy cards–I really need to keep a stock of those (even though I don't really want to!)–beautiful design! THANKS for joining in the fun and playing along with us over at the PDCC:)

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

