Color Throwdown

Thanks so much for all your sweet comments on my orange birds card yesterday – I think I will keep it and write the little experience with PrincessA on the inside and keep it in my craft room, for memory’s sake. 😉

Today, I’m sharing a card I made for the Color Throwdown #173 challenge, but apparently I missed the entry deadline.  Oops!  Lucky you, you get to see it anyway!

I don’t mind the red/white/black color combo in general, but I often don’t know what to do with it.  The combo seems to call for something dramatic, and I’m not really sure how well I do dramatic… outside of dealing with everyday life – LOL!

But here is what I created:

I finally received my PTI package with the Love and Marriage stamp set, so I broke that out (barely – haha!) for this card.  I tried using some of the other stamps for elements on the card, but I just didn’t like how they turned out.  I did use my Mehndi and Mega Mehndi Medallion sets, as well.  The rhinestones here look a tad bit orange, but they are actually red in real life.  And that teeny little one at the bottom obviously had a little slippage while I had my head turned, silly little thing.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

After nearly completing the card, I looked at the Color Throwdown graphic as an afterthought, and noticed that grey or silver was included in the colors.  So I added a grey/silver-ish shimmer cardstock mat layer and used a metallic pen to color in a few spots on the large medallion.  It’s very rudimentary coloring, but at least there’s a little grey now!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Love and Marriage, Mehndi Medallion, Mega Mehndi Medallion (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White, Pure Poppy, True Black Cardstocks (PTI); Grey Shimmer Cardstock (DCWV Shimmer Stack)
Inks:  Chianti (Colorbox); True Black (PTI); Metallic Marker
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft)
Tools:   Heart Prints Die (PTI)
3 thoughts on “Color Throwdown

  1. Very elegant Ally! Everytime I see the Mehndi Medallion I love what everyone does with it! Might have to put it on my list. Don't you hate it when those little gems slide about on their own! Love this sparkly heart…pretty!!!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

