I {heart} U

I’m joining the Clean & Simple Card Class this month.  Today’s topic is sketches, so I utilized one of those.  I also pulled the colors from one of the inspiration photos from the Barbles #2 challenge at Barb’s blog.  Aaaand… I tried to fulfill the requirements for Papertrey Ink’s Make It Monday #48 for backgrounds made with border dies.  Lastly, I think it qualifies for the CAS-ual Fridays #34 challenge of using chipboard.

Whew!

So here is what I came up with: (sorry for the late-night-no-light photo of this bright, bright color!)

From Barb’s photo (shown at the bottom of this post), I was inspired by the hot pink and the swirls made from the glasses, which I tried to imitate through the use of the Moroccan Motifs impression plate and also the ricrac borders.

The ricrac borders are also the focus of the Make It Monday technique to use the die-cuts as the background.  Although, I only used them for a small section of the background, in order to illustrate different textures/patterns, which I saw in the photo.

The white heart and letters are all homemade chipboard elements, so they stand up from the black circles a bit, with the black circles themselves also being raised on foam adhesive for a little depth.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to share the sketch, since it is part of a paid class, so I’m erring on the side of caution and not sharing it.  But it is basically a card with a mat layer and three elements at the bottom.  Hopefully you get the idea.  You could always go join in the class if you want to pick up all the sketches and such. πŸ˜‰

And here is the photo collage from the Barbles challenge – this card is for the top left clip.  You should create something and link up if you find time!

Thanks for stopping by today. πŸ˜‰

-Ally

Supplies Used:
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White, True Black, Raspberry Fizz (Papertrey Ink); Misc Cereal Box Cardstock for Chipboard Elements
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft)
Tools:  Block Alphabet Dies, Heart Prints Die, Ricrac Border Die, Moroccan Motifs Impression Plate (PTI); Standard Circles Dies (Spellbinders Nestabilities)
14 thoughts on “I {heart} U

  1. If I were grading in this class I would give you an A+! Fantastic job on this Ally! Love the background you made…really excellent work!

  2. Ally this is gorgeous…I love the same colored, but layered background, the texture, and the color! fab take on the challenge…I'm so happy you linked up! feel free to add more if time permits πŸ™‚ I love your style πŸ™‚

  3. Love this card Ally. The Bright pink andblack is so striking and I love your three circles for i love u. The embossed detail behind the ric rac die is so fabulous. I still may join the class.

  4. Super cool placement of the ricrac! I never would have thought to do that. Now I'm going to have to play with it. Thanks for the inspiration and for sharing the gorgeous card!

  5. Okay, that's it, I'm officially following you now! This card is brilliant! I LOVE the way you layered the ric-rac on top of the debossed background. So cool!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

