Card Class Project 2

Today’s topic in the Clean and Simple Card Class is about flat cards.  One-layer, perfectly flat cards.

I’m not very good at this kind of card.  Yet.  I have high hopes of getting it all figured out one of these days!  And then being able to create fabulous cards.  For now, I’m in practice mode. 😉

I used the ColourQ #119 challenge colors to create this card:

This card is purely for the learning experience, so I hope you’ll tell me what you think about it.

I think the black flower centers and such might be a little too much.  I used it to tie in with the black text, and I was thinking it wouldn’t be too weird, next to the grey leaves.  I hope it’s not too weird.  Honestly, it’s a little weird to me, too much black.  Or all the colors don’t blend or balance quite right.  Or something.  I don’t know.  But I didn’t want to re-stamp the whole thing tonight just to use another color, because I’m really tired.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Anyway.  I made a purchase from My Favorite Things Stamps a week or so ago, for a bunch of dies, and I guess the purchase qualified for a free stamp set, because I was pleasantly surprised to find it when I opened the package.  I thought something was wrong, so I emailed them, but they said it’s a free set for qualifying purchases.  So, YAY!  I had to break it open and try one.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉

-Ally
Challenge Photo:

Supplies Used:

Stamps:  Beautiful Blooms II, Flower Fusion #9, Turning A New Leaf (Papertrey Ink); Clearly Sentimental About Abundance (My Favorite Things)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White (PTI)
Inks:  Black, Pink, Mango Tango, Sky Gray, Antique Pewter (Colorbox)
13 thoughts on “Card Class Project 2

  1. Hi, I'm in the class too. Actually i think it's pretty amazing. You should re-evaluate your skills at one-layer cards! The one thing I might correct would be, to make the leaves, not darker gray, but less blotchy looking. Was that a clear stamp? They can often come out blotchy looking, especially until they have been well broken-in.

  2. Also, how do you get those watermarks with your blog name to appear on the photos? Is that some kind of Blogger widget, or do you do it in Photoshop? I see a lot of people have them.

  3. I think it flows nicely Ally. Using the black for your flower centers and little extra trios of dots helps to pull the sentiment into the design. Otherwise I think it would just be hanging out there! But then again…what do I know LOL!!! Keep up the good work ; ) and get some rest too.

  4. Wow! I adore the way you've stamped the branches and flowers to frame the sentiment. The pops of pink and orange are just right. Gorgeous work! Thanks for joining us at the ColourQ challenge this week!

  5. Beautiful work, Ally! I think you just stared at your card too long, because it all looks fabulous. Love your clean and simple. Thanks for joining us at the ColourQ this week.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

