Card Class Project 3

Finished up some more homework for the Clean & Simple Card Class.  I am using another of Monday’s sketches and also the technique from Day 3 on layering die cuts onto the same colored cardstock for texture effect.  I also utilized the Color Throwdown #174 combo for this card.

My creation:

I used the smallest Beautiful Blooms II #3 die to cut a bunch of flowers from Harvest Gold cardstock, layering them onto a section of cardstock in the same color.  I layered that onto Kraft cardstock and then onto some misc brown cardstock.  The sentiment is from Verve’s Miracles Blossom stamp set.  LOVE my Verve stamps!!

This is the first time I have tried the technique of cutting a little slit in the fold of the card to thread the ribbon through and not have to adhere it to any of the mat layers.  I haven’t done it in the past, because I have this thing about wasting ribbon and I don’t want to use any more than I have to.  But really, it was only about 2 inches more to do the full wrap than to clip it and adhere the ends behind the mat layer, and a bit less cumbersome, too.  I think the experience may have me one step closer to breaking my psychological hang-up on this issue.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I layered a couple of misc buttons from my stash that seemed to be a close match, threaded with some twine.

I know the class is about clean and simple cards, and I really tried to make it clean and simple here.  But I feel like those flower centers are calling out for some kind of bling or shine or at least a center.  But then I thought that might defeat the purpose of the layering die-cuts onto the same colored cardstock thing.  So I just left them plain.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally
Challenge Photo:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Miracles Blossom (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White, Harvest Gold, Kraft (Papertrey Ink); Misc Brown Cardstock (Unknown Brand)
Inks:  Chestunut (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Misc Buttons (Unknown Brand); Saddle-Stitch Ribbon (Offray); Rustic Cream Button Twine (PTI)
Tools:   Beamtiful Blooms II #3 Die (PTI)
5 thoughts on “Card Class Project 3

  1. i love this Ally! you've inspired me to try this technique after seeing this gorgeous card…(wipes drool off keyboard)…i'll link back to yours when i post it. tfs!

  2. If I hadn't read your post to see the flowers were cut and layered…I would have thought they were dry embossed!! Great job on such a pretty card Ally!

  3. I love the subtle texture that the same color layering gives. Great card! Thanks so much for playing along at the Color Throwdown!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

