Barbles #2 Project 2

Here is another attempt at the Barbles #2 challenge (photo shown at bottom of post), this one inspired by the bottom left photo in the collage.  I drew inspiration from the lovely pink flower with the green leaves, and the grey of that adorable cat! 😉  And since my next project is to create some sympathy cards for a friend, I turned those elements into a sympathy card.  I also used the Clean & Simple Stamping Fall To Layout #172:

Again, I apologize for the late-night photograph.  I have resorted to evening photography, since it’s about the only time I can find for it in my days right now!

I used PTI’s Smokey Shadow cardstock for the scallop square mat layer, and the bottom white layer is edge inked in pewter and impressed with the PTI Linen Impression Plate for a little texture.  (If you look really closely at the photograph, you may even be able to see some of the impression!)

I used my favorite Simple Sunflower stamp and die sets for the flower.  I know sunflowers aren’t pink, but I can’t help it!!  This is just such a beautiful stamp, and it fits so perfectly in the die-cuts, and I just can’t fight the urge to make these flowers in every color there is and ever was!  I love it.  I also pulled out my Sending You set for the sentiment, and I used a shimmer spritz on the flower & leaves, so there is a slight sparkle to it.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

This card looks so much better in real life, outside of my pitiful photography skills!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally
Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Sending You, Simple Sunflower (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White, Sweet Blush, Smokey Shadow (PTI)
Inks:  Antique Pewter, Rosebud, Moss Green (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Shimmer Spritz (Tsukineko); Rustic Cream Button Twine (PTI)
Tools:  Scalloped Rectangle Die (Spellbinders Nestabilities); Simple Sunflower Die, Canvas/Linen Impression Plate (PTI)
7 thoughts on “Barbles #2 Project 2

  1. Hey I make pink sunflowers too!!! This is so soft and lovley Ally, very pretty. HUGE congrats on your PDC win!!! I'm doin the happy dance for you girl 😉 HUGS!!!

  2. Wow! I LOVE this Ally! Thanks so much for linking this beauty up to the challenge. I love your take on the photo and how you've combined the colors…love! I was on the fence about that sunflower stamp & die…and know what, this could be a pink coneflower….they come in a rainbow of colors now. 😉

  3. This is so soft and pretty! I wouldn't think to use pink on a sympathy card, but it sends just the right message. The bit of cream twine is the perfect finishing touch!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

