Play Date Cafe 114 and Viva La Verve Sketch

I was so happy to see my card as the winner for last week’s Play Date Cafe challenge – I had to call my BFF and scream over the phone at her about it, and she was all excited with me, and it was like a fabulous dream come true, and, and!…. then my kids started to squabble and I came back down to earth.  But what a fun moment for this Mommy card maker! 😉

This week’s Play Date Cafe colors are so rich and regal – I just LOVE deep, earthy colors like these!  So I fiddled around a bit with them and eventually came up with something.  I wanted to use more of my recently-received Verve stamps, specifically the flowers from the Great Friend set.  I took the ‘gold’ in the combo quite literally, maybe too literally.  But I envisioned some sort of deep, rich wedding card, so I knocked myself out with it.  I also used Andrea Ewen’s Viva La Verve January Week 2 sketch.

As an aside, this is one of those days when I desperately wish I were MUCH better at and knew anything about photography!  I have tried multiple times yesterday and today to photograph this card so that it shows my BURGUNDY flower, but it keeps turning up really brown looking.  ((sigh))  So, while you look at this photo, please do me a favor and try to imagine a burgundy flower where that brown blob is, okay…?  Thanks so much! 😉

The burgundy, gold, and purple are all shimmer cardstocks.  I stamped the outline flowers in Versamark and heat embossed them with gold powder onto the burgundy cardstock, then fussy cut them and raised each layer with foam tape.  The sentiment is also heat embossed in gold, and I used my Cane Print impression plate on the card front.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉

-Ally
Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Great Friend, Love Story (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Vintage Cream (PTI); Shimmer Cardstocks (DCWV Shimmer Stacks)
Inks:  Versamark; Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger)
Embellishments:  Gold Embossing Powder (Hampton Art); Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Lace (Offray)
Tools:  Gothic Arches Border Punch, Leaves and Branch Deep Edge Punch (Martha Stewart Crafts); Labels Eighteen Die, Standard Ovals Die (Spellbinders Nestabilities); Cane Print Impression Plate (PTI)
7 thoughts on “Play Date Cafe 114 and Viva La Verve Sketch

  1. So it was you screaming huh…I wondered what that piercing noise was LOL!!! Still so happy for you and your win Aly 😉 Your card for this weeks challenge turned out beautifully too. I have pieces parts on my desk but still haven't put it together. Just one of those weeks!

  2. Ally, this card is lovely! Your background texture is amazing and all the embossing and colors are great. And Congrats for your win of Play Date Cafe – you deserve it. Your winning card is one of my favourites ever. Hugs – Maria

  3. CONGRATS !!!! so happy for you! I can just see you calling your BF , I would have done the same. Way to go MOM card maker. I can see why you won ,your card is gorgeous !

  4. I think I could hear you scream from Canada! Ally that is fantastic, huge congratulations. I can't say I'm am terribly surprised your cardmaking talents are top notch. This weeks card is gorgeous, gorgeous. Mom you are so talented. 😉

  5. This is just beautiful, Ally! Way to pay attention to the details! I so hear you on the camera not allowing your card to be what you created it to be, but all that aside, I think you did an amazing job with the colors! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

  6. Rich and regal colours, just as your card is rich and regal, a beautiful job, especially with the gold embossing, fabulous! Thanks for joining in the fun with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

