ColourQ 120 and Card Class Project

Day 7 over at the Clean and Simple Card Class is about white cards – plain white cards.  I agree that while white cards can sometimes be perceived as boring, when they’re done well, they can be fantastic and stunning.  I don’t know if I’m quite at that level yet, but I do love a good white card, and I definitely want to be able to do them well.  So I gave this topic a try, using the ColourQ #120 challenge colors.  I’m not sure that was the best choice, because using these rich, bold colors sparingly in order to produce a nice, clean, mostly white card certainly gave me fits of anxiety! 😉

I think my first try at it had a little too much color in it, maybe (I’ll show that card second).  It wasn’t quite what I was hoping for.  So I tried again.  And I like this one much better.  This one is my ‘official’ entry for the ColourQ challenge:

I used Harbor ink by Colorbox for the butterfly trails (stamping off once first for each) and the sentiment (full ink), and Thistle ink by Colorbox for the background text.  I am really pleased with how this card turned out.  I think both these cards would also qualify for one of the other topics as well, that of creating our own elements for simple embellishments.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

This is what my first card looks like:

I like it.  But It just felt like the blocks of color were a little overwhelming, in a way.  And I found myself wishing I would have raised the banner just a tad bit higher on the card.  But I was very happy to get out some of my new My Favorite Things dies for the banner and the flowers – HOORAY for using more supplies!!

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉

-Ally

Challenge Photo:

Supplies Used:

Card #1
Stamps:  Background Basics: Text Style II, Stitches and Swirls (Papertrey Ink); Love Story (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White (PTI); Misc Cardstocks (Unknown Brand)
Inks:  Harbor, Thistle (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft and Recollections)
Tools:  Butterfly Punch (Martha Stewart Crafts))

Card #2
Stamps:  Think Big Favorites #3 (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:   Rustic White (PTI); Misc Cardstocks (Unknown Brand)
Inks:   Harbor, Dusty Plum (Colorbox)
Embellishments:   Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Brads (Unknown Brand); Rustic Cream Button Twine (PTI)
Tools:   Banner and Flower Dies (My Favorite Things)

9 thoughts on “ColourQ 120 and Card Class Project

  1. There you go again making a couple of true beauties Ally! I do like your butterfly card QUITE a bit!!! I know what you mean about the white;it always seems like I should fill it up or something ~ HA! Great work girl!

  2. You don't need to take any classes you need to give them 🙂 Love both of your cards, I like white cards,of course you make anything look good.

  3. Both are lovely, but I am partial to the first one! I love the little line of print going across the bottom—such a fun little "extra"! Thanks so much for playing with us this week!

  4. Both cards are lovely Allyson, I too like the first one, but it is the butterflies, they look so free! Thanks so much for joining us at the ColourQ this week.

  5. You've done a beautiful job with these challenging colors, Ally! The butterfly card is totally sweet, and I love the subtle stamped text to ground the sentiment. Your banner is darling, too! Thanks for joining us this week at the ColourQ!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

