If Friends Were Flowers…

Stopping in with a submission for the Color Throwdown #175 challenge.  I like these colors.  Except, I wasn’t too sure what to do with the red, and I didn’t want a card that brought Christmas to mind in any way, shape, or form. Done with all that for a few months!  I tend to want to minimize reds anyway, and I wasn’t quite in a bold and bright and dramatic mood today.

Earlier today, I found myself down in the ‘toy library’ – which doubles as my backup craft room – waiting for PrincessM to search for and check out a toy.  I happened to see my boxes of tissue paper sitting there looking lonely, so I grabbed some in cream on the way back upstairs.

This is what I created with the challenge colors in mind: (I threw in a little dark brown for a neutral.)

This is the second tissue flower I created.  The first was exactly the same, except that (in a moment of pure weakness) I thought it might need a little extra touch of something.  So I brushed on a little bit of red and brown ink to do some sort of highlights, and I spritzed on some shimmer spray to give it a little sparkle.

And then my weakness passed, and I made a new one closer to my style, as it should have been from the beginning – simple and straightforward.  It’s not flashy or artsy, per se, but it’s exactly how I like it. 😉

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I used the Dahlia Nestabilities to create this large flower, along with the Sizzix Branches and Leaves die for leaves to accompany it.  The flower center is a Making Memories brad that I purchased several years ago, never knowing what to do with it, but…  oooooh, wasn’t it sooooo pretty??!  And THAT is exactly the kind of emotional state of mind I am in when I purchase most of my supplies – LOL!!  Then I return home and wonder what to do with all those irresistible supplies.  Well, I am happy to report that some of my years-old supplies are beginning to be put to good use, at last!

The brad had the word ‘love’ printed on it, so I intended to make this a wedding/anniversary/Valentine card of some sort.  But in the end, I caught sight of my beloved Verve stamps, and this one called to me.  So I went with it.  I suppose I could have left the ‘love’ visible, because love works for friends, too, right?. 😉  But I thought it would be fun to add a few Sharpie-colored mini pearls to embellish the center, and then added 3 more at the top left.

And as an aside, I am soooo happy with my Janome Sew Mini machine!  I am so much more likely to add stitching now that I have a manageable and handy and predictable machine within reach, and that makes me happy.

And as another aside, PrincessA completed her 2nd Grade math program yesterday – WAHOOO!!!  This is seriously a big accomplishment, for both of us.  It has been quite a year in the math area.  I am so proud of her for sticking with me and giving it her best effort, even when it seemed like we both would go crazy over it some days.  Some topics are just tougher, I guess.  Anyway, we are celebrating one of life’s milestones. A few weeks of easy review for ‘maintenance’ before we move on to the 3rd Grade material should be good for both of us. 😉

Thanks for stopping by today!
-Ally

Challenge Photo:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Dream Big (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Dark Chocolate, Vintage Cream, Pure Poppy (PTI); Green Cardstock (Best Occasions, from Wal-Mart); Designer Paper (Colorbok, from Wal-Mart); Tissue Paper (Unknown Brand)
Inks:  Chestnut (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Mini Pearls – Colored w/Sharpie Marker (Recollections); Decorative Brad (Making Memories); Machine Stitching
Tools:   Dahlia Dies (Spellbinders Nestabilities); Branches and Leaves Die (Sizzix); Sewing Machine
5 thoughts on “If Friends Were Flowers…

  1. GASP…..this is so striking Ally! So HAPPY that you went with your style, cuz I LOVE IT 😉 Your tissue paper flower is a real looker!!! Sharpie colored pearls, I've got to try that; yours look shiney…what;s the trick? Still thinking about that sewing machine. Hubs worked on mine this weekend, but it's still not quite right.

  2. Okay Ally, your flower that you made is seriously incredible and truly gorgeous. The painted pearls too–great idea. I am very impressed, the whole card is lovely but that bloom? So what toy did PrincessM select? A huge congratulations to PrincessA, and MOM, for such a big accomplishment! Enjoy some down time.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

