Barbles #2 Project 3

A third card for the Barbles #2 challenge, this time using the bottom right photo in the collage (photo shown at bottom of this post):

In this photo, all I saw was a large yellow flower, and black.  No color or sketch challenge here, I just figured I would use the negative die technique on a yellow flower, front and center.  A large rhinestone brad in the center, and a couple mini rhinestones by the sentiment, which is from Dawn McVey’s Signature Greetings set.  (LOVE that set!)

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

And then I was saw the Clean and Simple Card Class Day 10 topic – creating simple card sets – so I quickly worked up 3 more cards to complete a set of 4 Thank You cards.

I also tried Julie’s little box template for them, but I loaded them in the opposite direction.  I adjusted the size a little bit, to accommodate the large gemstone centers’ adding bulk to the stack, but it’s a tad bit too big in some spots.  So I’ll need to watch that next time.  This is only my second template attempt, which turned out fairly well, I think.

I added a few little coordinating flowers to the box for decoration, but in retrospect, I guess I should have used gems for the flower centers.  For some reason I grabbed buttons.  Maybe that’s weird, but oh well!

Seriously, these cards only took me 20 minutes to create.  Add in another 10 minutes for the box, and this is a  perfect project for a special little gift.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉  And have a great weekend!

-Ally

Challenge Photo:

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Signature Greetings (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White, True Black, Harvest Gold, Melon Berry, Simply Chartreuse, Aqua Mist (PTI)
Inks:  Black (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); White Buttons (My Favorite Finds); Embroidery Floss
Tools:   Beautiful Blooms II #3 Dies (PTI)

12 thoughts on “Barbles #2 Project 3

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

