Barbles #2 Project 4

I am typing this from my laptop computer, since my big PC crashed/died during the early a.m. hours on Saturday morning.  The power wouldn’t even turn on.  We tested all the connections and tried different cords, but to no avail.  I am PRAYING and hoping that all the data from my old PC can still be retrieved and accessed, because even one month of records is a big deal to me in our homeschooling efforts!  Until I know what’s up with the computer and whether or not we’ll need a new one, I am stuck on my laptop computer, which is terribly inefficient for me.  But, oh well!

Anyway.  Back to creativity…

I was thrilled to see my card set from my last post spotlighted on the last day of Clean and Simple Card Class.  Such an honor for me!  I had a really good time with the class, as much as I was able to keep up with it.  And I’m happy that they give us continued access to the class website and files, so that I can return and complete my studies for the days I missed.  I meant to work on more projects over the weekend, but Hubby came down ill, and I had church meetings to attend both days, and I ended up needing to do a lot of research for next year’s curriculum, which always takes longer than I think it will, especially on a laptop computer.  As it turns out, I didn’t get a single bit of card making done.

And the last time I backed up my hard drive was at the end of November just before the rush of Christmas and the New Year…  which means I don’t have access to any photos of my most recent cards right now.  So this post is one I started last week and had saved in Blogger.  I’ll just get to it and quit babbling!!

I wanted to create a card for each of the Barbles photos in the challenge collage, but when I saw that bird on a wire photo, I drew a complete blank!  I had absolutely NO IDEA what to create for it.

As I thought more about it, though, the Mehndi medallion came to mind, as a way to mimic the cloudy sky.  And I remembered my recent purchase of Verve’s Making A Statement stamp set, which has the two little birds in it.  So I pulled out those stamps and created this card:

Though the inspiration photo is pretty much monotone in black/white/grey, I had to add some color.  So I made a mat layer from Ocean Tides cardstock.  It’s fairly simple and not very bright and such, because I was intending for it to be an encouragement/sympathy/I Love You card, of sorts.  Not that encouragement/sympathy cards have to be boring and blah, necessarily – this is just how I saw the photo.  So I kept it on the minimum.  The little birdie is paper pieced from Ocean Tides cardstock, as well.  And I masked the top of the stamp to have just the “I love you” portion of it stamped.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Not my favorite creation, but I hope it’s not TOO drab or boring.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉

-Ally

Challenge Photo:

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Making A Statement (Verve); Mat Stack 1, Mega Mehndi Medallion (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White, Ocean Tides (PTI)
Inks:  Black, Sky Grey (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft)

2 thoughts on “Barbles #2 Project 4

  1. Computer outage and a sick husband;sounds like you had a rough weekend Ally. I hope he's feeling better. This little card is sweet, simple and a cutie! Something about a single little bird is always cute! Hope you get the computer issue solved 😉

  2. I am so sorry about your computer woes Ally, that stinks. I am also sorry to hear that sickness visited your house, hope hubby is on the mend. This card is gorgeous and so so cute. I love the Mehndi Medallion background so soft and subtle.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

