Papertrey January Blog Hop Challenge

I have my computer and my files back, for now – thank goodness! – and a new computer ordered.  Hopefully by next week things will be running more smoothly around here. πŸ˜‰

I am here with a card for Papertrey Ink’s January Blog Hop Challenge.  Here is the challenge topic:

First up, my favorite project from 2011:

I just love this card.  I used one of Heather Pulvirenti’s color challenges and some of my hand-dyed seam binding ribbon, and I pulled off my very first argyle background stamping.  And I’ll just be honest and say that I, personally, don’t think I can really ‘top’ this card.  It is just beautiful and perfect to me in every way. 

But it was, easily, my favorite project from 2011, so I went to work CASE-ing it.  The color combination was special to me, since using it was a HUGE step out of my comfort zone.  The argyle background was important to me, as well.  So I went with those two main features, added in some new supplies/products, and created this card:

I used my new Heart Border die (along with the Edgers #1 die) on the left side, and the Thank You stamp that came as a Christmas surprise in my December package.
Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I like this new card – it’s really beautiful, too.  But the ‘original’ will be saved forever as one of my all-time favorite cards.  Well, maybe not ‘forever’….  but at least as long as I’m alive and sane.  πŸ˜‰

You can see all of the fabulous, inspirational projects on the hop at Nichole’s blog.

Thanks for stopping by today. πŸ˜‰
-Ally
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  A Little Argyle, Mat Stack 1, Sending A Big Thank You, Turning A New Leaf (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Berry Sorbet, Lemon Tart, Rustic White, Spring Moss, Sweet Blush (PTI)
Inks:  Fresh Snow (PTI); Versamark; Black, Moss Green, Old Rose, Rosebud (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Saddle-Stitch Ribbon (PTI); Rhinestones (Kaisercraft, Recollections); Rhinestone Brad (American Crafts); Hand-Crocheted Flower from Embroidery Floss
Tools:  Edgers #1 Die, Heart Border Die, Mat Stack 1 Die, Mat Stack 1 Layerz Die, Turning A New Leaf Die, Linen & Canvas Impression Plate (PTI)
45 thoughts on “Papertrey January Blog Hop Challenge

  1. Ally both are gorgeous!!!!! I love your second card and that is one of the new flowers you crocheted isn't it. All the argyle detail is fantastic. Oh I love your style my friend!

  2. Both cards are beautiful, and I can certainly see why the first one was your favorite- it's absolutely beautiful!These colors are great, and you NAILED the argyle background!

  3. Wow, when I saw the first card I thought it was just perfect and it is. I have to say I do love the second one a bit more:) its gorgeous ,love the matt stack and the pretty flower. Glad computer problems are gone.

  4. Both cards are beautiful, but the ribbon on the first one really draws the eye in to enjoy all the goodies! the crochet flower on your second card is so sweet and a great accent.

  5. Oh Ally I would be hard pressed to pick a favorite here! Both are BEAUTIFUL. Fabulous job on the argyle backgrounds,love the ribbon treatments on both and that sweet little crocheted bloom…sigh~love it!

  6. oh wow!! I cant even begin to tell you what i love best… is it the combo of those two edger dies? is it the colors? is it the softness of that little flower? wonderful!

  7. These are both definitely "WOW" cards, Ally! The gorgeous hand-dyed seam binding and that argyle BG are awesome, but today's card has that FABULOUS crocheted flower and layered edges — I LOVE both!!!

  8. I can see why that card was your favorite. But, I also like the one you created for today. They are both stunning. I love that little crocheted flower.

  9. They are both great. Love your use of the thank you set with the mat stack die on the new one. The crocheted flower is a great touch too.

  10. Ally, these cards are beautiful. I love the colors and that crocheted flower is adorable…so perfect for this card. πŸ™‚

  11. Wow, Ally! No wonder this card is an all time favorite. I have to say, I like the new one just as well! They are both truly outstanding in color coordination, balance of elements, and overall design quality. Great job(s)

  12. Hello there. I simply wanted to take a moment to tell you that I absolutely adore your cards. They are elegant & have such a divine & simple ornateness about them. Very endearing & charming! I am a new follower as well. So nice to find such talented & inspirational crafters on my crafting journey.Crafty best wishes,Sonia

  13. ohhhh. I can see why you love that first one! It really is amazing! But you've done a wonderful job of CASEing yourself & coming up with something lovely & different than the original! πŸ™‚

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

