ColourQ and Viva La Verve

I was sifting through my patterned paper stash and found some that I thought might work with the ColourQ #121 challenge, so I used that and the Viva La Verve January Week 2 Sketch (by Teresa Kline) to create this card:

I thought the bottom layer of patterned paper had touches of both the olive green and the mustard yellow, though this photo doesn’t seem to do either of them true justice.

I tried not to over think the sketch too much, just took it straight up.  Although, I did change the heart to a flower.  I think I do better on sketch challenges if I don’t try to be too artistically interpretive with them, whatever that means.  I just think I have a hard time with them when my natural tendency of making them more than they are takes over. 😉

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

So, here it is.  Sketch…. straight up!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally
Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Dream Big, Great Friend (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Classic K Bailey Paper Pack, Life’s Journey Paper Pack (K&Company); Dark Chocolate, Rustic White Cardstocks (PTI)
Inks:  Chestnut (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft, Recollections); Machine Stitching
Tools:  Cutter Bee Scissors; Square Squeeze Punch (Fiskars)
10 thoughts on “ColourQ and Viva La Verve

  1. I see the olivey mustard colors in the background of your LOVELY card Ally! LOVE that gorgeous sparkly bloom. I know what you mean with the sketches. I think I do better with the direct approach too!

  2. Beautiful job with both challenges, Ally! I love the stitched borders and the bit of text paper, plus the flower is just fabulous. Thanks for playing along with us at the ColourQ!

  3. Ally this one is beautiful. I love those Verve stamps and your bling on the flower centre is fabulous. I love how you handled the sketch, that's how I do it–straight up. Sometimes I look at others interpretations and my brain says, REALLY? LOL

  4. WOW! This is a total "wow" card! I love the mix of DP you've used and the layers, I am such a sucker for layers! Thanks for joining us at the colourQ this week!! 🙂

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

