Barbles #2 Project 5

I needed a sketch to help me make another card for the Barbles #2 challenge (photo shown at bottom of post), so I used the Just Us Girls #118 Sketch, rotating it 90 degrees to the right, stretching out the square panels a little, and shrinking the oval panel a little as well.  I’m too late to enter it – by a couple of weeks, HA! – but I wanted to give credit.  I created the card a few weeks ago, as well, but with my crazy life, I’m just getting around to sharing it now.

This is for the center photo in the collage.  I wanted to create a gradient of the sunset colors, in a way.  So I chose a few sunset-y colors, inked the edges with a little light black, stamped a floral silhouette on each, and frost-spritzed each of them before matting them on black cardstock.  The spritz didn’t work out quite like I wanted – the frost was quite thick and ended up splotchy in parts, and in bright light, the reflection is quite overwhelming and makes me wince.  But in dim light, it’s better and I don’t mind the card so much.

I added in the yellow from the sunset through a strip of PTI saddle-stitch ribbon at the bottom.  Kinda random, I know.  The sentiment panel is made from one of the Spellbinders Grommet Tags, but I cut off the grommet ends (so I wouldn’t have to fill those holes somehow) and then situated the panel above the ribbon using foam adhesive.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Different.  Meh.  But I am happy to report that I was able to make a card for each of the photos in the collage, which was what I was going for.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally
Challenge Photo:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Blessings (Verve); Wildflower Silhouette (Hampton Art)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White, True Black, Plum Pudding, Autumn Rose, Melon Berry (Papertrey Ink)
Inks:  Black, Pink (Colorbox); Black (Martha Stewart)
Embellishments:  Pearls (Recollections, from Michaels); Lemon Tart Saddle-Stitch Ribbon (PTI); Shimmer Spritz (Tsukineko)
Tools:  Grommet Tags Die (Spellbinders); Rounded Corner Chomper (We R Memory Keepers)
4 thoughts on “Barbles #2 Project 5

  1. What pretty sunset colors Ally,great idea! I like them each on their own panel. My hubs has actually been working on sunset photos he took this summer while vacationing. Your colors are spot on, you could have been there with us! Have a great weekend 😉

  2. Ally, darling Ally…you are so hard on yourself. This card is stunning. The gradation of color between panels, the drops of iridescent frost, the yellow ribbon and that beautiful tag…adds up to a perfect card…in my humble opinion. Thank you so much for linking up your gorgeous designs…I'm honored that you were able to find inspiration in even one of the photos, let alone every one of them! I simply adore this card…*sigh*

  3. Ally I am so glad that you shared this masterpiece with us. It totally looks like sunset colours. I love how you laid out the three panels a wonderful transition of colour between them. I agree you are too hard on yourself, you work is always so beautiful.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

