Play Date Cafe 116 and VLV

I figured I’d better get a jump on the last Viva La Verve sketch for January, before time gets away from me again.  I combined the sketch with the Play Date Cafe #116 color combo.  I was happy to see that the VLV sketch this week was geared more toward the clean and simple.

I actually made two cards with this sketch and color combo, one masculine and super simple, and one feminine and a little less simple.

So first, a feminine, slightly-less-simple card:

I found this block of ‘Post Card’ patterned paper while shuffling through my paper stash (I really am serious about using more of my DP stash!).  I thought it was perfect, with the green/pear and moldy cheese/blue colors, so I simply distressed and inked the edges a bit and matted it onto some blue DP, also from my stash.

The other card I made with this color combo (which you’ll see in a moment) was a little overwhelming for me.  So I lightened the purple a bit for this card – in the ribbon, gems, and butterfly – and I like the combo much better this way.

And…….. LACE!  I know.  You’re soooo surprised, aren’t you?!

What can I say?  I am in love with this lace.  We might actually run off together next weekend and get married.  Shh!  Don’t tell my husband! ;-D

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

This next card was made to be a birthday card to send to my foster dad next week, so I tried to make it masculine.  I wanted to add in some texture or a pattern at the top, but I had a brain cramp and couldn’t come up with anything.

I think I was overblowing the fact that guys don’t necessarily like lace and frilly things, so my fingers kept fighting any effort to add anything more. In fact, those brads and brown lines are lucky to be there at all – haha!  Actually, the brown hand-drawn lines were more of an afterthought – the color strip seemed like it needed framing of some sort, and for lack of a better idea….

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

So, there’s my little Tale of Two Cities Cards.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally
Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used
Card #1
Stamps:  Blessings (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Vintage Cream (PTI); Post Card Designer Paper (K&Company, Best of K&Company Stack); Blue Designer Paper and Lavender Glittered Cardstock (Unknown Brand)
Inks:  Chestnut (Colorbox); Brown (Stampabilities)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Satin Ribbon and Lace (Offray)
Tools:  Butterfly Punch (Marvy Uchida); Labels One Die (Spellbinders Nestabilities)
Card #2
Stamps:  Big Wish (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Vintage Cream, Simply Chartreuse, Enchanted Evening, Plum Royal Velvet (PTI)
Inks: Chestnut (Colorbox); Tombow Marker
Embellishments:  Glitter Brads (Unknown Brand)
Tools: Paper Trimmer 
7 thoughts on “Play Date Cafe 116 and VLV

  1. Well blow me down girl these are AWESOME! THE perfect paper for your first frilly feminine card. And your sweet lace, who couldn't be in love with it! Love the soft look to this one.The card for your foster dad is BRILLIANT!! The last minute brads and lines brought this card to perfection.Have a beautiful day 😉

  2. Ally, BOTH are FAB in different ways! LOVE the lace and the frilliness of your first card! LOVE that color combination! The second card is PERFECT for a guy card. Personally I don't think it would be so perfect if you added something to the top. I LOVE the BOLD graphic feel to it!

  3. Love the feminine one its so pretty with that soft blue ribbon, and that hydrangea in the background! Love what you came up with for a guy card, the lines you drew and all. Im sure your f dad will love this!

  4. I'm in love with your feminine version of the VLV sketch, Allyson! Just breathtakingly beautiful. You provide such awesome eye candy, week after week!Thanks so much for playing with us at The Cafe. 🙂

  5. These are beautiful, Ally! I LOVE that lace, too. I have one that I simply cannot put down, either. And that second take is brilliant! It so doesn't need an ounce more to it! LOVE! Thanks so much for joining us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

  6. Oh these are just lovely! I love the way you've crimped the ribbon on your first card, it looks fab and your card is so elegant! Love the simple style of your second card too! Thanks so much for joining in the fun with us over at The Play Date Cafe!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

