Papertrey – Color Throwdown 177 – CAS-ual Fridays 38

I’ll just admit right now that I’m not sure I’ll be able to keep up with the pace for the Papertrey Ink anniversary festivities.  It moves pretty quickly, as I recall from last year, and I just have too much on my plate right now.  So we’ll see what I can manage this week – but it is fun to play along when possible. 😉

My card today is actually for three challenges:
Papertrey Ink Anniversary Day 1
Color Throwdown #177
CAS-ual Fridays #38

The challenge at CAS-ual Fridays is a movie theme.  One of my all-time favorite movies is Steel Magnolias, and one of my favorite lines from that movie is where Sally Fields says “A girl’s best friend is her Momma.  At least, that’s what it says on the greeting card.”  (Or something along those lines.  At least, I THINK it’s from Steel Magnolias!  Now I’m searching for it and can’t find it!)  So I made a Mother’s Day card.

Admittedly, the black in my card is minimal, compared with the Color Throwdown inspiration photo.  But even though it’s Sunday, I still have a lot going on today, and I don’t have a lot of room for interpretation. 😉

If it’s not evident, I chose Jessica Witty’s project as my favorite, because I remember when I saw it how stunning it was to me.  Just a perfect, white, simple but beautiful card.  Jessica’s cards always inspire me and give me something to think about.  But I love ALL the PTI design team ladies.  What a fabulous, wonderful, endless well of creativity!!  Thanks to all the PTI ladies who provide so much inspiration month after month.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Fillable Frames #1 (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White (PTI)
Inks:  Black (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Decorative Brad (Unknown Brand, Bo Bunny maybe??)
Tools:  Beautiful Blooms II #1 Dies, Parisian Doily Die, Cane Print Impression Plate (PTI)

15 thoughts on “Papertrey – Color Throwdown 177 – CAS-ual Fridays 38

  1. I love your card. The texture looks so deep and rich in pure white! I like the minimal black, too-very elegant! I love Steel Magnolias as well, and I think your quote is correct!

  2. “House wine of the South”
    “I have a strict policy that no one cries alone in my presence”
    “Looks like two stuck pigs fighting under a blanket”…
    can you tell I have a slight love of Steel Magnolia’s?
    Have maybe only seen it oh…
    50 times!
    *giggle*
    But love, love, love this card!
    The background…
    the doily…
    and that pop of pink…
    perfect! 🙂

  3. Love your pretty white card Ally. I cant believe you picked Steel Magnolias, that is what I have picked for my card that is a wreath and all I could think of was steel magnolias. I was going to post late tonight. Oh, well! Your card is beautiful with that vibrant flower and lovely dry embossing.

  4. Wonderful job with the inspiration! Such a great movie and I love that you used a pink flower since she wanted her wedding colors to be blush and bashful 🙂 Great job!!! Thanks for playing with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

  5. Very pretty! The white on white and that beautiful doily are so elegant! Love the flower as your pop of color! Thanks for playing the Color Throwdown!

  6. Ally this is gorgeous, gorgeous! I love the cane impression plate. The white on white and the beautiful
    vibrant pink flowers that look like they are felt. Your brad is gorgeous. Girl your rocked these challenges.

  7. This is stunning!! And a perfect representation of Steel Magnolias – that one still makes me cry no matter how times I see it!! Thanks so much for playing with us at CAS-ual Fridays!! We’re so glad you did!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

