Papertrey February Blog Hop Challenge

The theme for this month’s Papertrey Ink Blog Hop Challenge is interactive cards.

Honestly, I’m not too sure what that means.  Except that PTI’s latest release included some ‘Movers and Shakers’ products which make interactive cards easier to create.  But of all those available, I only purchased the Zipper dies.  And my package containing them only arrived yesterday afternoon.

Though I was very excited to see them on my doorstep, I wasn’t really expecting them until later next week.  So I went with other plans for my cards, since I really didn’t have time to break them out to play yesterday, especially with another massive headache keeping me company all.stinkin’.day.long.  So a few days ago, I chose the obvious route and created a few shaker cards, based on Heather Nichols’ recent Make It Monday topic.  Here is the first card I created:

Though I have so, so many – way too many – dies to choose from, and since these are my first ever shaker cards, I went easy on myself and used the Take Three die for this one, for its square-ness qualities.

I also used Ashley Cannon Newell’s Make It Monday #54 challenge for glitter buttons, using Stickles and adding the finished items to the bottom of the card.  Finally used my Think Big Favorites #12 for this one, as well.  The little micro glass beads came from the jewelry department at Hobby Lobby.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

I created another birthday shaker card, this time with the Spellbinders Stars Five die set, and some silver glitter inside.

Used my favorite Fancy Flourishes for both cards.  I wish I would have stamped off a little of the Pure Poppy ink on this second card, because the black didn’t quite overlap and stand out as much as I’d hoped it would – it just kinda blends in and isn’t very distinct.  Oh well.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

This is not my typical card of choice, since interactive cards don’t really suit my style.  But I plan to give this second card to my grandpa – who was a soldier in World War II and whose birthday is the day after Independence Day – and I think he will get a big kick out of it.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉  You can find more inspirational projects on the PTI Blog Hop at Nichole Heady’s blog.

-Ally

SUPPLIES USED
Card #1:
Stamps:  Fancy Flourishes, Think Big Favorites #12 (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Rustic White Cardstock (PTI); Fun Foam
Inks:  True Black (PTI); Aqua (Colorbox)
Embellishments:  Diamond Stickles (Ranger); 11/0 Glass Beads (Best Treasures, Czech Glass Beads); Misc Buttons (Unknown Brand); Rhinestones (Recollections)
Tools:  Take Three Die (PTI)

Card #2:
Stamps:  Fancy Flourishes, Think Big Favorites #7 (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Enchanted Evening, Pure Poppy, Rustic White (PTI); Foil Cardstock (Unknown Brand)
Inks:  Pure Poppy, True Black (PTI)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections); Glitter (JoAnn Craft Essentials)
Tools:  Book Print Impression Plate (PTI); Stars Five Dies (Spellbinders Nestabilities)

40 thoughts on “Papertrey February Blog Hop Challenge

  1. They are both great cards. I really like the colors on the first one, and the layout and flourishes are fantastic on the star card.

  2. Wow! Ally I love these cards ! Great idea. You have to interact to shake it..lol First one is so pretty and the second one is perfect for your grandfather! Wonderful!

  3. Karen N. says:

    You are being too critical, too hard on yourself. The sentiment stands out just fine on that card. And the colors on the first are fantastic!

  4. Fabulous cards Ally considering all of your road blocks! Sure hope you feel better soon. Your grandpa is sure to be thrilled with his special card 😉

  5. These are both super cards. I like the bright colors of the first, and the star on the second–perfect for your grandfather. And, you are giving me more ideas on how to use my Fancy Flourishes set.

  6. Becky N says:

    Allyson, I love the birthday card so much! I even followed the link to watch the Make it Monday tutorial, which I’ve never done before, and then looked at all the shaker cards that other people made. Is it biased to say that I loved yours by far the most? 🙂

  7. Kristen :-) says:

    WOW! Ill say it again… WOW. Both cards are so striking… I think my favorite is the first one. Love the colors and those little beads! 🙂

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

