Play Date Cafe 122

I was a little bummed to see yellow in the next Play Date Cafe combo, but I was thrilled to see that my card was the winner for last week’s challenge.  Talk about a tale of two cities, LOL! ;-D

Anyhoo.  As you know, yellow is not my best color.  I had this thought in my head for a little branch with blossoms on it for a sympathy card.  Then I went to creating, but just couldn’t get it to materialize as I saw it in my head.  I’d hate to say it’s because of the yellow, but…. who knows.

Yellow just does not give me happy thoughts, I suppose.

Here it is:

I tried just some small punched blossoms in Lemon Tart cardstock, but they seemed quite plain.  So I stamped and fussy cut some blossoms from my new Sweet Spring stamp set, and I like them better.  Although, it really doesn’t make the card any more endearing to me.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

This was not the first card I created for this combo.  That card is close to what I envisioned, but this next card was my actual first attempt.

This card derailed my envisioned card, because as I went sifting through my supplies, I caught sight of my new Grand Madison Window die, and I immediately wanted to play with it.  I think it’s a fun die, with lots of possibilities.  But I don’t like this card any more than the first.  Maybe I just used all the elements the wrong way, perhaps.

I thought the embossing could resemble some type of wallpaper, to give the card the effect of being on the inside of a house looking out at the blooming flowers and butterflies.  But the color restrictions made me think twice about adding blue for some sky effect, so this just looks really plain and boring and yellow to me.  And a little bit silly, since I don’t know who would really want gray wallpaper on their walls, and based on the above premise about being inside a house looking out, there’s actually a butterfly inside the house.  My kids would be delighted with that scenario, though!

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Ah well.  On top of the world one moment, grovelling in yellow the next – what can you do?!  Haha!!  😀

At least I think this new die will be fun to use in the future.  That’s a happy thought.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Card #1
Stamps:
Communique Curves, Sweet Spring, Take A Bough (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Lemon Tart, Rustic White, Smokey Shadow Cardstocks (PTI); Designer Paper (DCWV)
Inks:  Smokey Shadow, True Black (PTI)
Embellishments:  Lemon Tart Stitched Ribbon (PTI); Pearls (Recollections)
Tools: 
Scissors (Cutter Bee)

Card #2
Stamps: 
Healing Touch, Sweet Spring (PTI)
Paper/Cardstock: 
Lemon Tart, Rustic White, Smokey Shadow Cardstocks (PTI); Misc Gray Cardstock (Unknown Brand)
Inks: 
True Black (PTI); Copic Markers
Embellishments: 
Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Spica Glitter Pen
Tools:  Small Madison Window (Poppystamps); Embossing Folder (Cuttlebug); Pinking Shears (Fiskars); Scissors (Cutter Bee)

7 thoughts on “Play Date Cafe 122

  1. You’re being too hard on yourself Ally..these are both pretty cards! You’ve used the colors so well. But I DO understand your feelings toward certain colors; yellow has been in SO many challenges lately. I love your perfect knotted ribbon and that window die IS FUN!! I have all the time in the world today but no ambition to make a card ~ ugh, must be the rain.

  2. Bobbi Schesser says:

    Your two cards are not at all plain and boring! I especially love what you’ve done with the window die. So many possibilities. Thanks again for sharing your talents!

  3. Congratulations Ally!!!!!! That is so amazing, I never doubted it with you, your cards are always so amazing and you so deserved to win. These two cards are fantastic, you should be so proud of yourself for making such awesome cards. I have been following you for a year and I have yet to see something that isn’t fantastic!

  4. Two incredible cards Ally. I love what you did with the colors. Congratulations on your win, too!
    Thank you for your sweet comments. 😉

  5. LIke Dana said up above, I would never have guessed you have trouble with yellow. Seriously, Allyson, both cards are SUPER. The first one I think really lends itself to being a sympathy card, with its quiet beauty.

    Thanks so much for playing with us at The Play Date CAfe this week. 🙂

  6. You crack me up Ally! I appreciate you showing both of your cards even though you weren’t happy about them. I seriously wondered what the trouble was though (I know part of it is the yellow and gray ‘must have’s’ you don’t like). I think these are fabulous!!! You are being too hard on yourself : ) I NEED that window die lol

    I hope and pray that you are feeling MUCH better soon!!!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

