Copic ColourQ 129

I recently decided to invest in some Copic markers.  I also branched out a bit and began purchasing stamps from a few companies other than my typical favorites.  I am generally hesitant to try other stamp brands, but I am stepping out of my comfort zone.

When I first began stamping a few years ago, I was picking up clear stamps here and there at local craft stores, not realizing that there is a big difference in quality amongst the different brands.  I was a know-nothing beginner, and when you couple that with the stock-piling side of my crafting personality, we end up with a bunch TON of low-quality clear stamps which really don’t work for me and then which sit around in boxes because I hate using them.

A few years ago, I discovered Papertrey Ink and Verve stamps, and I absolutely fell in LOVE with the quality of these stamps.  So thick and pliable and easy to use, and obviously not cheap.

Because of my huge stash of cheapo stamps that I don’t want to use, I tend to stick with the good ones when I find them.  But, in all the chaos of PTI’s latest anniversary release, I decided I’d better try to branch out and see what else is out there and try not to put all my eggs in one basket.  So I ordered a couple of sets from a few other companies, to see how I would like them.

One of the new sets is the Inspired By Butterflies set by My Favorite Things.  I thought they would also be nice in helping me to develop my Copic skills.  So I stamped one of the images and used some Copics to color the main focal point of this card.  I used the ColourQ #129 colors for it:

I broke out my favorite-of-all stamp sets, Fancy Flourishes, for the trail, and my new Beautiful Butterflies stamp set for the sentiment.  I also sent the top white layer through the Big Shot with my Linen/Canvas Impression Plate.

You can see in the close-up photos that I have a long, long way to go with my Copic markering.  But I can picture myself stamping and trimming a bunch of images to practice on when the only thing I am physically able to do on my ‘bad’ days is to sit in the recliner and ‘rest’ after putting the children to bed.  I can keep these and my Copics with me and just color away until I fall asleep.  (What an exciting life, eh??!)

I am looking forward to coloring and getting acquainted with these new supplies – should be fun.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Anyway.  Not sure why I’m feeling so verbose today, guess I’m just longing for some adult conversation.  I tend to feel that way, the closer the week gets to the weekend, if ya know what I mean. 😉

Thanks for stopping by today.
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Inspired By Butterflies (My Favorite Things); Beautiful Butterflies, Fancy Flourishes (PTI)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White, Aqua Mist (PTI); Misc Cardstock (Unknown Brand)
Inks:  Aqua Mist, Scarlet Jewel (PTI); Copic Markers
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft); Machine Stitching
Tools:  Inspired By Butterflies Die (My Favorite Things); Linen/Canvas Impression Plate (PTI); Pinking Shears (Fiskars); Sewing Machine

21 thoughts on “Copic ColourQ 129

  1. Beautiful card Ally, you did a fabulous job in your inaugural Copic colouring! Seriously, love Fancy Flourishes, they make a great tail and your sentiment is perfect.

  2. Ally, I wish you felt better. It must be so difficult with young children. Sorry! The good news is this has not affected how beautiful your cards are. Great coloring with your new Copics . Lovely card and stitched edges . I love the flourish set also. Take care.

  3. You sound like me when I started cardmaking! I started off with cheap-o stamps and then made a few discoveries along the way. PTI was the first good quality I encountered but I didn’t realize it until I went back to an old stamp… Since PTI, I’ve enjoyed other good quality stamps such as WPlus9 Design Studios, Lawn Fawn, Paper Smooches. I often laugh with my mother about “mistakes” made along the way and wish someone had been there to hold my hand! 😉

  4. Well look at you branching out!! Love this Ally, what a pretty butterfly. Your coloring looks pretty darn good to me. I’ve yet to take the Copic plunge ~ hee! Excellent work with the ColorQ colors too. How do you like the quality of your new stamp set? I have dies from them but have yet to order any stamps. Fell better 😉

  5. Sandi otway says:

    Hi this is my first time on your blog. I agree with Tracey M. That your first go with copics is good. Love the card

  6. This is so beautiful, Ally! I think your coloring looks fantastic, and the little gems you added to the flourish “trail” are darling. I love the stitched border and pinked edges, too! Thanks for joining us this week at the ColourQ!

  7. What a gorgeous card! I was looking at this colour challenge and thought that they are difficult colours to use since they are all so bold….but you’ve done an amazing job of creating a subtle and pretty card…..and that butterfly is divine!!
    PS – I hear you re the tiredness factor…I have a 3 yr old and a 12 month old…..most nights I start crafting at about 9pm even though I know I should go to bed, but then again if I went to bed, I would miss out on my creative world……it’s a dilemma!! 🙂

  8. So very elegant! I think you did a very good job with your coloring. I am just learning mine as well so I know how you feel ;o) The purples are just gorgeous. Great job.

  9. Kathy Mc says:

    Ally, I’d say you rocked it with your coloring. I’ve yet to invest in Copics as that’s another whole world, and I’m not sure I’m ready to tackle that one. Your card is beautiful with all the added touches ~ stitching, pinked edges, the flourish and bling. Hoping today is a good day for you!

  10. Hi Ally! WOW, this is so fabulous! I have a new butterfly set, too, if I CASE you, I’ll link back. I just might too, because this is SO pretty! The Copic coloring looks great:) Thanks for playing at ColourQ this week! 🙂

  11. Becky says:

    I think you master the color challenge. I really like the way you used the colors so the deep color of rich razzleberry didn’t take away from the other colors. Very pretty card.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

