Play Date Cafe 125

I saw the Play Date Cafe #125 colors – black and white with a splash of brown – and I did a little happy dance, because I knew it would be the perfect opportunity to use my little silky, brown flower that I made around Christmas time.

In fact, Santa brought me a bunch of little half-yard cuts of silky fabrics in different colors for Christmas, because he knew I wanted to try making these little singed-edge lollipop flowers.  This brown one was my first attempt, and it has been patiently waiting underneath my Big Shot machine since Christmas for me to find an opportunity to use it, I think.

I added some frost Stickles around the edges, just because I’m that way.  It is actually a milk chocolate-y kind of color, not so dark as this photo makes it seem.  But, I have to accept whatever yucky photos I can get in the bad evening lights right now, so this is it today.

Found some lovely lace at Wal-mart a few weeks ago, using it here with a thin strip of black cardstock through the center.  I was also happy to use my new Leafy Flourish die from MFT Stamps.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

Happy to have found a little more time for creativity this week.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Happily Ever After (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White, True Black (PTI)
Inks:  True Black (PTI)
Embellishments:  Mini Pearls (Recollections); Flower-Center Pearls (Unknown Brand); Frost Stickles (Ranger); Lace (Offray); Fabric (Joann)
Tools:  Mat Stack 4 Die, Mat Stack 4 Layerz Die (PTI); Thank You 5 Embossing Folder (Sizzix); Large Leafy Flourish (MFT Stamps)

11 thoughts on “Play Date Cafe 125

  1. How pretty Ally! Love your milk chocolate flower with the elegant pearl center. Your embossed backgrounds always look so marvelous. What a great find on the lace from Walmart…so pretty!! I always forget about their crafting department. I’ll bet the trims are very reasonable there, worth a look 😃

  2. What a stunning card Ally and that silk flower that you made is just gorgeous. You give Prima a run for their money girl. The lace you used is so yummy too and is the perfect touch. Love all the fabric texture on your card. Have a great weekend.

  3. Allyson, this is beautiful! I would love to try making those types of flowers sometime; they are so pretty. Santa was good to you, eh?

    Thanks so much for playing with us at The Play Date Cafe!

  4. What an absolutely gorgeous example of what a ‘splash’ is…I adore this card and always love when we can use something we’ve been holding onto : ) So great to see you in The Cafe once again!

  5. Allyson, love the simple colors/design. The flower is gorgeous…and I think the photo is fine, although I have to admit I’m encouraged to hear you say you have a fun time trying to get just the right shot! Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. Just beautiful, Ally! So glad you used that fabric! LOVE all the fabulous textures here! Thanks so much for playing along with us this week at The Play Date Cafe!

  7. Ally, this is one GORGEOUS card! I LOVE the brown flower and I JUST now bought some silk to try one myself! How funny! LOVE the embossed background and the ribbon running through that FAB lace! So PRETTY!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

