Orange Butterflies

It feels like I haven’t posted in forever.  It feels even longer since I’ve made a card!  I’ve had a few moments over the last few weeks to crochet a little flower, or color an image with my new copics, or to organize my supplies to be more manageable, but I finally found an hour today to get crafty – wahoo!

After such a long break, I figured I would just throw myself head first into it all by using a couple of challenges that normally wouldn’t call my name, but which would certainly give me a challenge.  I was happy to do some actual stamping.

So, I used the current Make It Monday challenge, the ColourQ #133 combo (yellow and orange, yipee!), and also the Clean & Simple #186 sketch.  Betsy’s video was very educational for me, although I wasn’t too sure what the challenge entailed, exactly.  Were we supposed to create 2 cards using the same elements to make them similar but different?  Or were we to make one card and then make it better by ‘stepping it up’ for a new card?  Or were both the cards supposed to be similar but fantastic from the start???

Well, it was a rough first go after the break!  I felt like my stamping was all in the wrong order, and I forgot to implement things I meant to (i.e. – linen impression plate on first card), and elements ended up in awkward places which in turn made other elements have to go in awkward places, too….  But it was fun to get creative again. 😉

Here are the two cards (nearly) side by side.  The left side was my first attempt, and the right was the ‘step up.’

And here are detail shots of the first card, the simple one for the C&S challenge (you can click on the photos to enlarge them).

And the second card close-ups, for the ColourQ challenge (not so clean & simple).

I used some new-to-me supplies for these – Fancy Flourishes die, Canyon Clay and Harvest Gold inks, and the Beautiful Butterflies stamps.  It was good to ink up and get crafty, but I definitely need more practice!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Background Basics: Text Style, Beautiful Butterflies, Fancy Flourishes, Script Sentiments (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White (PTI); Designer Paper (DCWV); Doily (Wilton); Gray Cardstock (Unknown Brand)
Inks:  Canyon Clay, True Black, Harvest Gold (PTI)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections)
Tools:  Fancy Flourishes Die, Heart Border Die, Linen/Canvas Impression Plate  (PTI)

28 thoughts on “Orange Butterflies

  1. Hi Ally! It’s good to see you again-I’ve been away from Blogland myself. These are both wonderful cards! I see nothing awkward about either of them. I really like the color combo too!

  2. pamela says:

    Wowoooowowow I love this! I love your step up and putting them side by side shows a HUGE contrast between the two. I can’t wait for my butterfly stamp set to arrive *can’t waittttt*

  3. Ally stop! These are gorgeous cards , I am thinking maybe I should not make a card for a while so I could end up with gorgeous cards like you. You did a wonderful job as usual, you’re so creative! Happy to see you back, hope you continue to feel well enough to stamp.

  4. I think you did a fabulous job with the PTI challenge (I’m not familiar with the others :)! Your cards, both of them, are stunning.

  5. Great job with the challenge. I also thought the video was educational, but am not sure exactly what the challenge was. I have done nothing yet, but plan to do two cards, just like you. I can see exactly how you went from one to the other, and they both look great. You do not look out of practice at all.

  6. Both are equally gorgeous Ally, your first one layer card is fantastic with that sentiment on it. Your stepped up card just has so many gorgeous layers. Welcome back my friend I’ve missed you!

  7. Bobbi Schesser says:

    It’s nice to see a post from you Ally. Your cards are lovely! Don’t stay away so long! hugs, Bobbi

  8. A big ol’ e hug is coming your way Ally,I’ve missed you!! But it was worth the wait,spectacular cards…and look at you girl playing with orange~hee 😊 Hope you’re feeling much better and your family is doing well. Can’t wait to see what you add a little crocheted flower to or have colored with your new copics. Welcome back 😃

  9. Ally, I love seeing the progression of your cards! Sometimes when I am doing the photograph, I realize, I should have done this. going back over time and redoing it works for me as well. The cards are beautiful and the second shows the thought youput in after the first! It pops and awesome job! Thanks for joining us this week at the ColourQ and sharing your card!

  10. Deanna Jean says:

    Wow three challenges in one. I love both of these cards. I’m glad you found some time to get crafty. Thanks for joining us this week at the ColourQ.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

