Aqua-Lime Birthday

Can you tell by the post title that it’s been a while since I last posted to my blog?? 😉

So, Hubby took PrincessA to late-night, double-header soccer games tonight while I tucked the twins in bed at precisely 7:20 p.m. (10 minutes ahead of schedule), which left me with approximately 1 hour and 40 minutes all to my lonesome.

I have felt an inkling all week to play along with the new Dynamic Duos challenge, because my sweet, sweet bloggy friend, Lisa from My Paper Tales, is debuting as a design team member, and Lisa really inspires me – I just couldn’t miss this one!  And though I am tired as h$@#! and really should have gone to bed (or maybe sit in a rocking chair reminiscing about my glory days when I was a young pup and oh so much more spry), I made a card instead.  For the first time in 2 weeks!!

As mentioned, I used the Dynamic Duos #1 colors, but I also used the CAS-ual Fridays #51 challenge, that being a birthday theme.

This is another of my copic-colored butterflies using a My Favorite Things stamp.  I also utilized my new-and-recently-received banner dies from WPlus9.

I didn’t follow the ‘Rule of Threes’ in my design approach, or any other rule, for that matter.  I’ll just be honest and say that I don’t really know any rules of design.  Just trying to have a little creative fun, really.

I suppose I did take a lot of liberty on using a deeper aqua for the butterfly.  Figured it was close enough.

Click on photo to enlarge for details.

After spending the last 2 weeks organizing but not using my craft supplies and feeling like my mojo has been lost in outer space or buried under a rock somewhere,…  it was pleasant to get back into it a little.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Inspired by Butterflies (My Favorite Things); Happy Birthdays (Sweet & Sassy Stamps)
Paper/Cardstock:  Stamper’s Select White (Papertrey Ink); Designer Papers (DCWV)
Inks:  True Black (PTI); Tuxedo Black (Memento)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections); Thread
Tools:  Butterfly Die (MFT); Embossing Folder (Cuttlebug); Banner Trio Die (WPlus9); Machine Stitching

16 thoughts on “Aqua-Lime Birthday

  1. I think you DID follow the rule of three – two banners and one butterfly equal 3 elements! FAB card! LOVE your coloring and the embossing! Glad you had some crafty time!!!

  2. This is such a gorgeous card. I love the stitching over the banner, the little bit of bling and the beautifully coloured butterfly. Thanks for joining us at Dynamic Duos this week.

  3. Your butterfly is beautiful! I love the stitched detail and the fabulous embossing on the background, too. Looks like you’ve found your crafting groove again! Thanks for helping us celebrate this week at CAS-ual Fridays!

  4. Ally I have missed you so much! Your card is stunning, that butterfly is just gorgeous
    and your Copic colouring is perfect. Hope your mojo keeps going with the warmer weather. 🙂

  5. Melissa says:

    I’m so glad you took the time to stamp something because this card is gorgeous! Your butterfly is beautiful and I really like the big polka dot BG! Thanks for joining us over at Dynamic Duos this week! 🙂

  6. What a way to throw your back into the challenge arena Ally! Love the chunky embossed polka dots, the sprinkling of bling and your GORGEOUS butterfly! Thanks for playing along with us at Dynamic Duos!

  7. I just don’t think you could ever loose your Mojo you just always have it. Bet its nice to be all organized though. The butterfly you colored is gorgeous and so is this card, love the large polka dots. I sure fell in love with color combo its a new favorite for me now. I hope you have a great Mother’s Day , Ally.

  8. Love this! Your butterfly is beautiful and that bit of stitching and bling is fabulous! So glad you were able to find some time and energy to craft. I know exactly how you feel.

  9. I’m glad you stayed up to play, because this is a brilliantly colored butterfly! Gorgeous card! Thanks for joining us for our first Dynamic Duo!

  10. Ally, this is darling! Love the extra details you added like the pops of bling and the stitching. SO pretty! Thanks so much for joining us this week at Dynamic Duos for our first challenge! 🙂

  11. How pretty! Love the embossed dots and dots of bling to go with them! Beautiful butterfly too! Thanks for playing with us at Cas-ual Fridays!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

