A Winner, CASology, and A Bit O’ Mushiness

First, thanks so much to those who offered to give my Summer Fun stamp set a good home!  And without further ado, the winner that was selected by Random.org is:

Cheryl, please email me at laughadaisy (at) hotmail (dot) com with your mailing address, and I will send this stamp set out to you in the mail.

Now on to my card.  (Hooray!  I made a card!)  I was perusing my blog list and realized that I had somehow missed the fact that my sweet bloggy friend, Tracey, was appointed to a Design Team for a new challenge blog – CASology.  So in honor of that, I wanted to participate in the first challenge to help celebrate!  Plus, it’s about Clean and Simple, which is just right for me. 😉

The challenge word this week is “SUN.”  And since I had a new package of Verve stamps arrive a few days ago, I broke out my Let It Shine stamp set and went to work at 9:30 p.m. last night.  Because, let’s face it – that’s when I get to stamp nowadays!

Anyway, here is my creation:

The sun stamp and sentiment came from the Let It Shine set.  The sun rays came from my new Framed Greetings set from MFT Stamps.  I also got to open my pack of Simply Chartreuse pattern paper.

I used Aqua Mist cardstock as a mat layer to mimic the color of sky, and the DP at the bottom was to mimic the color of grass.  And I figured, what the heck!  Let’s break out my favorite lace! 😉

Pretty simple, I know.  I’m having a hard time working card making into my schedule, so I just take whatever I can get by way of creativity right now.

I know this sentiment is from a love song, but I think the sentiment would be true of my sweet friend Tracey.  She always has something kind and thoughtful to say in her comments, and she sends caring emails to keep in touch and see how I’m doing.  And they always seem to come on days when I’m feeling rather alone and feeling like I can’t take the dang fibromyalgia for one more stinkin’ day!  I am grateful for such a kind, understanding friend who does, in fact, brighten my life.

Congrats, Tracey!  I can’t wait to see all your future Design Team creations! 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Let It Shine (Verve); Framed Greetings (MFT Stamps)
Paper/Cardstock:  Aqua Mist, Stamper’s Select White Cardstocks (PTI); Simply Chartreuse Pattern Pack (PTI); Polka-dot DP (Doodlebug)
Inks:  Summer Sunrise, True Black (PTI)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections); Lace (Offray); Twine (PTI)

10 thoughts on “A Winner, CASology, and A Bit O’ Mushiness

  1. So glad you got to make a card and such a happy one to boot! I know Tracey really enjoyed it. Sorry to hear that you struggle with fibromyalgia. You are in my prayers. I don’t have that problem but I have way too many friends who do. Be kind and patient with yourself!

  2. sharonjjones51 says:

    Ally, you are so wonderful and I love your card…I know what you mean about fibromyalgia, I have it, also. And osteoarthritis, too, which is really acting up lately because I have it BAD in my back and knees! I keep muscle spasms in my back from it and it makes it hard to sit and create at my desk for very long.
    You are an awesome creator and designer and my prayers are with you too!
    Hugz2u!

  3. Ally, you have made me cry. You are such a sweet friend and i know only too well the struggles that you have with fibromyalgia as they mirror my MS symptoms so much. We can support each other. Your card however, is so gorgeous. That sun with the gems for sparkle and your new stamps? They arrived just in time for this challenge. –hugs

  4. This is the prettiest little polka dot sparkly sun I’ve ever seen! And the bit of blue sky peeking out is the perfect touch. So happy you found time to squeeze in some card making Ally. I hope you’re enjoying your summer 😊

  5. Hey Ally! What an awesome post!!! Fabulous Fabulous… everything FABULOUS!!! Your card is beautiful with the bright colors and gorgeous lace (my fave!). Sweet words from your heart to your special friend – I’m sure she feels the same about you!

    I’m going to look into the challenge and see what I can come up with CAS style! Thanks for the info.

    Praying for a pain free day… and remember that God only gives us what we need for TODAY. Take one step and day at a time 🙂 You’ll find it amazing that just when you think you can’t go on, He provides more strength. Like He does through your friend!

    Love and blessings,
    Lori

  6. Rosemary says:

    your card is absolutely adorable… i love the little bit of lace and twine that you added! thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

  7. Ally, I’m so glad you stayed up a bit late and created this card because is wonderful! LOVE that gemstone embellished sun and the colors you chose to use! Thank you so much for joining us at CASology for our very first challenge this week! 🙂

  8. Ally, I love that you’ve incorporated patterned paper, gems and lace and yet this is still a totally CAS card. Gorgeous work! Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

