CASology 5

Back with something for the CASology #5 challenge, the keyword being ‘POND.’

Now, the first and ONLY thing that came to my mind when I saw that keyword was the color blue.  I think that’s because I don’t do ‘whimsical’ very well, and I don’t really think in terms of animals and such when I create my cards, otherwise I suppose I could have thought of ducks or fish or frogs or something more fitting for the category of ‘pond.’  And it should be noted that at the end of a VERY hot Summer season, and with the chaotic schedule we’ve been keeping lately, my brain functioning very well may not be at optimal.  Or anywhere close to that.

So.

I went with blue.

Actually, it worked out nicely, since I had just received some new Stampin’ Up! cardstocks in the mail, and the Marina Mist was calling to me.  I had also just seen this really cool Photo Card Boutique Color Crush palette while searching for inspiration:

Click on photo to view source.

I just followed along and came up with this card:

I used my new Sweet & Sassy Stamps for the lovely cherry blossom image and equally lovely sentiment, coloring the branch with a couple of Copic markers.

I thought about adding more to the card somehow, but I think I like it this way.  Although, I’m not sure it fits the ‘Clean & Simple’ category very well.  It’s clean,… except for the ink brushing around the edges.  It’s simple,… except for all those fussy-cut blossoms.  It’s a nice card,… except that it doesn’t have anything to do with a POND.  So other than that, it’s TOTALLY clean & simple and fits in the category of ‘POND’!  LOL!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Bridge of Hope, Sheltering Cherry Blossom (Sweet & Sassy Stamps)
Paper/Cardstock:  Marina Mist (SU!); Stamper’s Select White (PTI)
Inks:  Tuxedo Black (Mememto); Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger); Copic Markers

9 thoughts on “CASology 5

  1. Ardyth says:

    Let’s pretend that’s the branch hanging OVER the pond! lol! This is a beautiful card – you’ve captured your inspiration very well! Thanks for playing along with CASology this week!

  2. Well there might not be any frogs or fish, but it’s a beautiful blue card!! That pretty little blossoming branch could be hanging OVER a pond LOL!!!

  3. Melissa says:

    Like Ardyth said, I can see this being a branch from a flowering tree next to the pond…a tree one could read a book in! 🙂 This is gorgeous! Love all that blue!!! Thanks for joining us at CASology!

  4. Beautiful blue card Ally, that one single branch with the blossoms is stunning. POND is the trigger and you pulled blue from that, bang on. Thank you so much for joining us this week at CASology!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

