Home Sweet Home

We have returned from vacation, and I am almost ready to get back into some kind of rhythm in life!  Before I get too far on that topic, though…

I’M GUEST DESIGNING AT DYNAMIC DUOS FOR THE MONTH OF SEPTEMBER!!!!!  BAH!! 😀

Oh my word – WOW!  It has been an interesting week or so of emotions since Lesley sent me that first email, but I am really looking forward to my first little ‘engagement’ of this sort!  Hopefully you all will enjoy seeing what my little creative brain will produce. 😉

So, last year on our vacation, I took some supplies and churned out a bunch of little embellies and things, most of which haven’t even been used yet.

This year on our vacation, I managed just a little bit of Copic coloring and inventing a new little crochet flower.  I also spent an obscene amount of time working through a book of Sudoku puzzles, and then 4 hours one night watching repeats of Wife Swap.  And I’ll tell you what!  After 4 episodes of Wife Swap, I am feeling like the Mother of the Year!!!  Nothing like watching people more dysfunctional than me on national television to make me feel better about my life!  LOL. ;-D

Well, we also had a few days at some children’s museums, the Demolition Derby, a morning at a local reservoir ‘beach’,

a day at the ‘Country Boy Store’ (so the children could spend their hard-earned chore money on a new toy), much swimming at the resort pool, a trip to the Air Force museum,

much consumption of ice cream and cookies, late night movies with popcorn, photographing bovine statues/yard decorations at a nearby farm,

dinner at IHOP, dinner at Sizzler, lunch at In-and-Out Burgers, and the indulgence of watching hours of Family Feud and Animal Planet on TV.

Although, I think my favorite event was – as we were driving down the highway – when we spotted a train chugging along near us at the foot of the mountain.  We counted approximately 150 cars.  Our son loves trains, so he was a bit sad when we quickly passed it by and it seemed gone for the time being.

We saw a little bridge ahead where it would be passing through in a few minutes, and then a little side road that led to a lookout right next to the bridge.  We pulled off to the lookout, and within 5 minutes that train was barreling past us – and our little boy was thrilled!  It was so spontaneous and fun and unusual, and it made my boy so happy, that it was easily my favorite moment.  Even the girls got a kick out of it and danced around as it went by!

And the best part about it is that I happened to have the camera and the video recorder with us at the time to capture it so that Little Man can watch it over and over and over to his hearts’ content!

Other than all the fun, my favorite part of vacation is coming home.  There’s no place like home, after all!  As I try to unwind and at the same time gear up for the next run at homeschool lessons, I am beginning to feel that expectation of Autumn about to arrive.  And that makes me feel Oh, so very HAPPY!  I love this time of year when the busy huh-bub of Summer suddenly stops and we are finally left to settle back into ‘normal’ life. 😉

I know not everyone in my family agrees with that sentiment.  Heaven knows we have a few VERY active bodies in our home!!  All I can say is, thank goodness we live in a place where there are noticeable changes of season!!  I cannot imagine having the luxury of constant good weather, and consequently feeling the pressure to be out and about and doing things all year long!  I am one of those home-bodies who needs the down time of Autumn and Winter.

Anyway.  Thanks for listening to my ramble about our vacation and the upcoming arrival of Autumn.  I appreciate it if you took the time to read.

I hope you’ll stop in on Saturday to see my first post as a Guest Designer at Dynamic Duos!  And then play along as well. 😉

Thanks for stopping by today!
-Ally

10 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. Happy dance, happy dance!!! I was SO EXCITED to see that you were going to be joining us at Dynamic Duos Ally ~ can’t wait to work along side my sweet bloggy firend 🙂 Sounds like a great vacation…but I agree there’s no place like home and snuggling in. Have a great day 😉

  2. Congratulations Ally! How fun is that! They sure have a good eye for great talent. Sounds and looks like you had a wonderful vacation. I agree I would love the excuse to have to stay in doors sometimes because of bad or cold weather. I guess that will be today. 106! Or I can just stay in the pool all day. A BIG CONGRATS ALLY!

  3. Woo Hoo Ally, I am soooo excited! Jumping for joy! You are going to be an excellent Guest Designer. Can’t wait to see all of your beauty my friend. Your vacation sounds and looked like a great time, but I agree that coming home always feels so good!!

  4. Congrats to you my friend! Such a well deserved honor!!! By far, you make some of the most beautiful cards on this internet thing 🙂
    I agree with your thoughts on getting back home from vacation. As a homebody with 4 distinct seasons as well, I can’t wait for fall and winter…I need that “time to nest” feeling and fall and winter provide it.

  5. Ann R. says:

    Oh, fun vacation. I, too, am a fan of fall!! I say the only good thing about summer is fall is next. :). Thanks for sharing your life with us. I love living vicariously through others since my life us a bit boring!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

