Mojo Throwdown

A card for Mojo Monday #257 and Color Throwdown #208.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I just don’t layer on cards very well.  Either that, or I just don’t enjoy layering on cards.  This card took me FOR.EV.ER to complete.  And at the end of it, it makes me think a bottle of Pepto Bismol threw up on it.  Which is funny, because Pepto is supposed to prevent throwing up, isn’t it?

Anyway.

It also took me a while to create it simply because my brain has been pulled in so many directions this week.  Our van seems to be on the verge of breaking down, we had to replace a broken kitchen faucet on the spur of the moment at 10:30pm Wednesday night, and working back into lessons with the children is always a bit of a struggle for the first few days.  Among other issues.

Meh.  Life goes on, right?!  And we are making delicious mint brownies today as part of PrincessA’s math lesson, so things are already on the mend!

See you tomorrow morning for a Dynamic Duos card!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Big Wish, Great Friend (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Pink Pirouette (SU!); Hibiscus Burst, Rustic White Cardstocks (PTI); Designer Paper (DCWV, BoBunny, The Paper Studio, Misc)
Inks:  Tuxedo Black (Memento)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Recollections, Kaisercraft)
Tools:  Leafy Sprigs Die (Verve); Fishtail Flag Stax Die (MFT); Scallop Trim Border Punch (SU!); Corner Rounder (We R Memory Keepers)

13 thoughts on “Mojo Throwdown

  1. Making the brownies should make for a better day. Will you stop! Your card is beautiful and perfect. I have to admit you sound a lot like me , but without any reason to not love your card. smile. Your layering and colors are gorgeous! That flower and every detail is gorgeous. Hope things stop breaking …..

  2. Ha! Before I read your commentary, I was thinking what a great combination of patterns, texture and colors! You crack me up. 🙂 Aren’t you glad this week is behind you? Enjoy your brownies and have a happy weekend!

  3. Oh my word! This is simply gorgeous! Definitely not pepto bismol… more like cotton candy awesomeness! 🙂 And your layers look fabulous! Thanks for playing Mojo Monday!

  4. Love this card Ally, your colour layering is fabulous and I don’t feel like throwing up at all. I agree it is more like cotton candy. Your flower stamping is lovely and your banner is perfect. Enjoy your mint brownies, excellent math lesson–love the life skills aspect. 🙂

  5. Michelle Bala says:

    Allyson, are we looking at the same card? This is beyond gorgeous! Although, I understand what you’re feeling…I scrapped what I made with this sketch…I just could not pull it together! Beautiful card!

  6. Well I for one think it’s pretty and perfectly sweet! But I know how you feel I look at cards I’ve made and ask myself what the heck was I thinking LOL don’t be so hard on yourself, the layers are lovely. Brownies for a math lesson…can I come be a student teacher or assistant at your house!!??!!

  7. This is such a gorgeous card and I’d say you layer like a pro! You rocked both the Mojo and the Color Throwdown challenges! Hope those brownies were the cure all for your woes! Thanks for playing along with us at Mojo Monday and Color Throwdown!

  8. JoAnn B. says:

    I think your card is beautiful. I love the pink/green color combo and all your embellishments. Great job.TFS

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

