Fanspiration Diva Dare with Freshly Made Sketches and Color Throwdown

I thought I’d create something for the Verve Fanspiration Diva Dare.  (You can find the Diva creations on the Verve Blog.)  The challenge is to find a project by a Verve fan to help inspire a creation.  Which is a big challenge!  There is so much talent and so many beautiful creations – it’s hard to know where to begin!

Well, as I was shuffling through the Verve Gallery, Jen Mitchell’s Relax card caught my eye.  I always love Jen’s creations.  But this one is just so very beautiful, to me.  So I set about to case her card.

I also found a Freshly Made Sketch (#33) which was similar to the layout Jen used on her card, so that I could enter it into the FMS One Year Anniversary challenge.  It also happens to be a sketch by Jen!

And why not?! – I threw in the Color Throwdown #209 colors!  Although, you might have to really hunt for the Rust color in my card.  It’s there, though – I promise!  Anyway, here it is:

I loved Jen’s beautiful bloom, but I wanted to use some of my other new Verve stamps, so I used a few blooms from the new Brighter Days stamp set, and I pulled another sentiment from the same stamp set Jen used (Dream Big).  The leaves were cut using the Dreamy Leaves dies.  I went to add some gems or bling or something to dress it up, but it didn’t feel right.  I liked it better all ‘un-blinged’ like this. 😉

Thanks for the inspiration from your beautiful card, Jen!

And thank you all for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:

Supplies Used
:
Stamps:  Brighter Days, Dream Big (Verve)
Paper/Cardstock:  Always Artichoke, So Saffron Cardstocks (SU!); Dark Chocolate, Rustic White Cardstocks (PTI); Misc Designer Papers
Inks:  Dark Chocolate (PTI)
Embellishments:  Brad (The Paper Studio); Twine (PTI)
Tools:  Whimsy Embossing Folder (Lifestyle Crafts); Dreamy Leaves Dies (Verve)

10 thoughts on “Fanspiration Diva Dare with Freshly Made Sketches and Color Throwdown

  1. Happy Sunday, Ally. Once again you have captured the challenges with a card that is balanced and beautiful. I especially like the font of this Thank You. I don’t have a lot of Verve, but I always like their style. I continue to be amazed at how well you combine colors and textures…I guess that’s your trademark? Certainly a good one to have. : )

  2. Great job Ally! Wow! Love those colours and that flower is perfect! Love the embossed background and the twine! Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

  3. Lovely card Ally! I really like how your embossed white background makes your layered flower and stems pop! Thanks for playing along with us over at the Color Throwdown!

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

