Play Date Cafe 151

I finally broke out my The Sweet Life stamp set, in order to play along with the Play Date Cafe challenge this week.

I’m not an expert on these flowers, obviously.  They were a little tricky for me to line them all up for the coordinated whole, even with the ‘cheat sheet’ from the PTI forum.  I practiced and practiced first on scratch paper, but I still need lots more practice, I think.  But I don’t think they’re terrible for my first try!  And it was fun to practice with them.

I used some Fine Linen striped paper on the bottom of the card.  And I figured I would get acquainted again with my long-neglected Edgers #1 die!  Also making an appearance here are a couple of stamps from the Waltzingmouse Say It Loud stamp set.  And I took quite a bit of liberty in the color shades, I think.  Hope it’s not too much of a stretch.

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:

Supplies Used:
Stamps:  Say It Loud (Waltzingmouse Stamps); The Sweet Life, Background Basics: Tin Types (Papertrey Ink)
Paper/Cardstock:  Dark Chocolate, Vintage Cream Cardstocks; Fine Linen Pattern Paper (PTI); White Cardstock (Xpedx)
Inks:  Dark Chocolate, Melon Berry, Ripe Avocado, Scarlet Jewel, Simply Chartreuse (PTI); Pink Pirouette, Pumpkin Pie,  Regal Rose (SU!); Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger)
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft, Recollections); Vintage Cream Ribbon (PTI)
Tools:  The Sweet Life Dies, Edgers #1 Die (PTI)

8 thoughts on “Play Date Cafe 151

  1. Great job! I think this stamp set is VERY tricky. I spent a lot of time getting just one right on scratch paper before I put one on a card. The two different color roses gives your card so much depth and richness. We grow roses and at this time of the year, the flowers are smaller and the colors are more intense. A mixture of those “fall” shades is perfect for the season. Happy October. : )

  2. WOWZERS Ally!!! What a beautiful card. The whole design is just fabulous. The subtle diamond pattern, the perfectly placed gems and the wee bit of striped DP peeking out add volumes to your card. You’re on a roll girl!!

  3. Ally, this creation is absolutely gorgeous! I love the striped paper at the bottom, the tin types subtle backgroung, the edger touch and I think you did a marvelous job with the flowers, That is a hard set to use, and in my eyes, your flowers are just wonderful.

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

