Mojo Monday and Paper Players

I am playing along with the Mojo Monday #261 sketch and The Paper Players #115 Tic-Tac-Toe challenge.  For the latter, I chose to work with the top row of elements on the board:  Christmas, Sparkle/Bling, and Ribbon.

So here is my somewhat-rustic Christmas card:

I used a few new stamps here.  The wreath is from O Christmas Tree by Verve, and the sentiment is from Holiday Wishes by PTI.  I used some Copics to color in the wreath image a bit, and then decked it out in some rhinestones bling.  I also added some machine stitching to the banner and the background panel.  The music DP is from a new Pink Paislee paper pack I picked up recently, and the ribbon is PTI’s Ripe Avocado.

After I finished the card, I wondered if the background was too busy, or if I should have cut the center from the wreath.  But I won’t stew about it for very long.  I wish I could find time to create in the morning, when my brain is fresh… er….

I am trying to get into the Christmas spirit, and to find some card ideas for easily-mass-produced cards, since I send out a LOT of cards during the Holidays – for our family Christmas card and also as little gifts.  I am hoping to finalize some things next week when we are on break from lessons.  This one, though, will not make the cut for the ‘easily-mass-produced’ requirement.  It took me more than an hour, and I don’t see myself making 60+ of these.

Anyway.  As I’ve seen on so many blogs, everyone else seems to be miles ahead of me, so wish me luck as I gear up for the Holiday card making fest!

Thanks for stopping by today. 😉
-Ally

Challenge Photos:
Supplies Used:
Stamps:  O Christmas Tree (Verve); Holiday Wishes (PTI)
Paper/Cardstock:  White Cardstock (Xpedx); Cherry Cobbler Cardstock (SU!); Kraft, Ripe Avocado Cardstock (PTI); Designer Paper (Pink Paislee – London Market); Doily (Wilton)
Inks:  Tuxedo Black (Memento); Early Espresso (SU!); Tea Dye Distress Ink (Ranger); Copic Markers
Embellishments:  Rhinestones (Kaisercraft, Recollections); Ribbon (PTI); Thread
Tools:  Standard Circles Die (Spellbinders); Sewing Machine

7 thoughts on “Mojo Monday and Paper Players

  1. This is such a pretty Christmas card Ally! Love the wreath layered with the delicate doily and your wonderful stitching. I don’t think the sheet music is too busy. I’m one of those that plays Christmas music for the entire holiday season, so it is just the perfect fit to me!

  2. Your card is beautiful, Ally. I really like this Mojo Monday Sketch and all your lovely detailed layers. No, the music background is not too much, it adds to the Christmas cheer this card will bring someone lucky enough to receive it.

  3. This is such a sweet & charming Festive card Allyson. Love the warmth of the rustic colours, all the interesting layers. & the dainty little wreath. Thanks for playing along with The Paper Players. 🙂

  4. Ally, this is gorgeous! I love the traditional feel to your card and all of the beautiful detail you added. The stitched trim on the banner sentiment is a great touch. Thanks so much for joining us this week at the Paper Players! 🙂

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment.

